a drive through amish country: lancaster, pennsylvania

Friday, December 30:  On our way home from Philadelphia, we take the roundabout route through Lancaster, Pennsylvania, just to get off the boring interstate.  It’s always fun to drive on American back roads, through farmland and small towns.

The Pennsylvania Amish of Lancaster County are America’s oldest Amish settlement.  Here, the horse and buggy remains a primary form of transportation, and the Amish people work in agriculture, businesses and cottage industries.
Farm in Lancaster County

The light is beautiful on this winter afternoon, painting the silos and barns with a golden color.

Farm in Lancaster County

We see many homes with laundry flapping in the breeze.

Laundry on the line

The small town of Intercourse is a hub where many Amish and local people do business.  It’s just east of Bird-in-Hand and north of Paradise.  Here, shops sell Amish quilts, furniture and other handmade crafts.  You can click on the link to read about how the town of Intercourse got its name.

Welcome to Intercourse
Farm in Lancaster
Another farm

Bird-in-Hand is another cute town in Lancaster, with cute shops congregating along the roadside. The history of Bird-in-Hand and its unusual name is here.

Bird-in-Hand
Lancaster Farm

We come across some of the buggies that are so common here.  This one is taking a rest.

horseless buggy

We pass many on the road, but I have a hard time capturing them because they move at quite a clip. I do manage to snatch a photo of one.

Horse and buggy in Lancaster
Amish farm
house in Lancaster
Barn
Lancaster farm
Lancaster farm
Home in Lancaster
another home

The rest of our drive home isn’t quite so scenic.  We do manage to get home safely after our fabulous trip to Philadelphia and to ring in the New Year the next evening, with me asleep before midnight. 🙂

22 thoughts on “a drive through amish country: lancaster, pennsylvania

  1. Ah, I remember ages ago suggesting you do a post about the Amish. And now you have! Love those barn shapes and silos – so very different to anything we have over here. The light and clouds are fabulous in these photos Cathy. Is this the new camera? If so are you liking it better nowadays?

    1. We went to to this exact place in 1988 for our honeymoon and it doesn’t seem to have changed much in that time, Jude. I don’t think we’ve been back through since then, until on our way home from Philly on this trip. The light just happened to be good; it was late afternoon. And no, I’m still using my Olympus. Buying that Canon was a waste of money. I really hate it! One day I’ll have to try another camera, but I’ll never get a Canon again. 🙂

      1. I looked up the Olympus E-10 and it seems it’s been discontinued by the manufacturer. Too bad, it does look light and compact. I think I’d like it too. 🙂

        What do you use for photo processing, Jude? I need to get a new software on my old computer before I go to Japan. 🙂

  2. This post brought back memories of the time I lived in Lancaster County, just outside the city – and worked in Lancaster itself. My kids were little then, and weekends we would drive to the dairy to pick up milk and juice and then wander around the little backroads – knowing we would always come out on a road we recognized eventually.

      1. I was a secretary for a construction company. They are fond memories and in some ways idyllic, but life always has its speed bumps.

  3. I live in the heart of one of the biggest Canadian Amish/Mennonite communities. These beautiful, bucolic images could have all been taken within a few miles of my present home and where I grew up. This video is about St. Jacob’s, the next town over. I think you would find it VERY similar to what you saw in Lancaster.

      1. It is very similar, to the point that all the big shopping mall parking lots near me have a barn for horse and buggy parking.

Leave a Reply

