a birthday walk at meadowlark botanical garden

Tuesday, October 25:  Today, on my birthday, I take a stroll around Meadowlark Gardens.  Mike and I are going out for sushi, Sapporo and sake tonight, but during the day, I’m on my own.  It’s a gorgeous day, as it is more often than not on my birthday, so I can’t resist wandering outside through a golden-hued landscape.

golds of fall
golds of fall

Today happens to be the actual day of my birth: Tuesday.  It reminds of the Mother Goose rhyme my mother used to read us:

Monday’s child is fair of face,
Tuesday’s child is full of grace;
Wednesday’s child is full of woe,
Thursday’s child has far to go;
Friday’s child is loving and giving,
Saturday’s child works hard for its living;
But the child that is born on the Sabbath day
Is bonny and blithe, and good and gay.

pods
pods

It’s funny about birthdays.  Some people, as they get older, say they don’t like to celebrate them; they feel a little bitter that they’re getting another year older.  I don’t feel that way at all.  I love my birthday and usually try to drag out a celebration of it for a week or more. If I’ve made it to another birthday, it means I’ve been lucky enough to have another year of life. 🙂

witches and cats
witches and cats

It helps that my birthday is in the best month of the year.  I love October!  I might not feel so cheery about it if it were one of my least favorite months, say February or July or August.

sweeps of flowers
sweeps of flowers
Monarch crossing
Monarch crossing
wispiness
wispiness
pinks and yellows
pinks and yellows
geese at rest
geese at rest
the pavilion on the pond
the pavilion on the pond
the pavilion
the pavilion
turtle
turtle
koi and turtle
koi and turtle

I love these three trees, and their skeletal limbs, reaching for the sky.

skeletal trees
skeletal trees
lotus pond
lotus pond
faded glory
faded glory
grasses and pods
grasses and pods
on golden pond
on golden pond
fountain joy
fountain joy
reds
reds
last blooms
last blooms
sculpture
sculpture
sculpture in the grass
sculpture in the grass

I love nothing better than taking walks outdoors in autumn.

It’s nice and cool today; the air is crisp and sharp and the sky is as bright as polished silk.

greens
greens
pinks
pinks
bushes
bushes
purples
purples
have a seat
have a seat

In the evening, Mike and I go to Yoko Japanese Restaurant and Sushi Bar in Oakton for my birthday dinner.  My sister Stephanie introduced me to the enjoyable ritual of drinking a sip of hot sake following by a gulp of cold Sapporo, and Mike and I do just that to celebrate.  It’s a quiet birthday, but pleasant just the same.

Another year older, and hopefully wiser, or at least more experienced!  🙂

16 thoughts on “a birthday walk at meadowlark botanical garden

  1. Happy birthday Cathy even if a little late. I’d love to have a day like that – what a beautiful day! Such landscapes and such vibrant colour still. Are you happy with the new camera now? And you have had quite a year what with the renovations to the house and the overseas trip so you must feel a huge sense of achievement. I wish you everything you wish for yourself in the coming year – adventures, happiness and love ❤ ❤

  2. Happy Belated Birthday Sweet Friend!!! May your adventures continue, you happiness shine through, and your love remain abundant!!!

  3. Happy birthday! (Plus a couple of days). I’m a Tuesday too, though my birthday is in July which you don’t like. It was always near the school term and working in Glasgow I found it was nearly always a local holiday. Win all round!

    1. Thanks so much, Anabel. Oh dear, sorry about my comment about July. I’m sure you love it though; I’m just not a fan of the heat and humidity we have in July. You probably have beautiful weather in July in your neck of the woods. A local holiday as well; of course you’d enjoy!! 🙂

      1. Excessive heat is not usually our problem and the “humidity” falls out of the sky like stair-rods! Hence I’m often to be found travelling on my birthday…..

  4. Glad it was a good one, Cathy. I usually spin mine out too, and I’ve already had a birthday luncheon with Ann, my friend from Polish classes. Tomorrow will be quiet for me. Undecided what to do other than zumba. I usually love the fireworks display but I don’t know if I’m in the mood this year. James will be home at some point so there’ll be laundry 🙂 🙂 We may go out for Sunday lunch instead. Hugs, sweetheart!

  5. Birthdays are meant to go for days…that’s my opinion and I’m sticking to it! I’m always happy to have another one and I find it hard to understand people who freak out about getting older, particularly when they reach milestone birthdays. Princess Diana was born just a few days earlier than I was and I remember when I turned 50 some people were asking how I felt about that. My reply was great – I’m sure Diana would have loved to be able to turn 50. Glad you had a lovely day for your birthday.

    1. I agree, Carol! I’ve known people who have been freaking out about birthdays since they turned 25 or 30!! Just think of all that wasted anxiety. I say enjoy! And yes, I’m sure Princess Diana would have loved to have turned 50, just like many other people who have died would love to reach the age I am now! A proud 61! 🙂

  6. Happy Birthday, very belated…your pleasure and love of life are so evident here, it’s wonderful. I love my birth month, too (May) but you’re right, October does usually have a surfeit of fabulous days. But so does May! 😉 Actually, May around where you live isn’t as nice as it was fifty years ago – it gets too hot now. I think October is safe, for a while at least!

    1. Thanks so much, Lynn. I love May too, although you’re right that sometimes in Virginia it can be quite hot and humid. Overall, it’s generally not bad, and there is lots of green and flowers are blooming everywhere. I think it’s fun to be excited about our birthdays! I hope all is well with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

