weekly photo challenge: spare

Friday, May 27: Today’s Weekly Photo Challenge asks us to share photos representing spare:

(adjective) Additional to what is required for ordinary use.
(adjective) Elegantly simple.
(verb) To refrain from harming.

I’ve chosen some photos representing minimalist landscapes.  First, on a drive to the beaches on the south of Crete, I found this spare rolling landscape.

Southern Crete
Southern Crete

Anacapa Island, one of California’s Channel Islands is one of the most spare and desolate landscapes I’ve seen, except for the multitudes of seagulls dotting the horizon.

Anacapa Island off the coast of California
Anacapa Island off the coast of California

Weizhou Island in the south of China has some lava beaches that look pretty spare, yet elegantly curvaceous.

Weizhou Beach in the south of China
Weizhou Beach in the south of China

And finally, the marshland of Chincoteague Island in Virginia is spare, but beautiful.

Sea grasses on Chincoteague Island
Sea grasses on Chincoteague Island
22 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: spare

  1. Beautiful photos as always. Images such as these can reflect our inner world at times, don’t you agree? But I am surprised you did not post any photos of the strange, spare and oddly-frilled “mountains” which epitomized the land around Nizwa. It was a lunar landscape in so many ways, and so odd once you got up close to them. But as all of these photos were taken along shorelines, perhaps the promise of something just out of grasp over the horizon in some ways better reflected the immediate concept of “spare”. x

    1. I agree, these images do evoke some kind of either paring down / simplicity; on the other hand, they can also evoke desolation. I didn’t post any pictures of Oman because I feel like I’m always posting pics of it, although I know many Omani landscapes would have fit this challenge perfectly. 🙂

      1. Yes, we have. We once drove to Maine for the summer and passed through to see the horses of Chincoteague. A picnic there turned interesting when a flock of seagulls descended upon our picnic table, seizing sandwiches and chips and sending us scurrying!!! It’s funny what you remember from a place!

      2. I think I’d remember that too! What a crazy experience that must have been. I remember getting stung by a bee inside my mouth when it landed on my peanut butter and jelly sandwich and I took a bite. That was on Billy Goat’s Trail along the Potomac River. Some things you can just never forget. 🙂 I’m glad you got to see the ponies of Chincoteague. 🙂

  2. Back to the challenges, Cathy! I wasn’t sure if I’d missed a cocktail hour? I haven’t had much time for ‘visiting’ lately but hope to start to catch up after I’ve done this week’s walk. Better get started! 🙂 🙂

    1. It seems you saw my last cocktail hour on around May 15 (the Mother’s Day one), because I see you commented. I’m committing to one a month, around the middle of each month. I’m trying to be more disciplined about my blogging. Now that I’ve caught up on my USA adventures, I’m going to be working on finishing up Myanmar. I can’t believe I haven’t done it yet! Happy Sunday, Jo! 🙂

      1. Let me know when you start posting Myanmar again, Cathy. Sunday lunch cooked and Mick’s washed up so I’m off the hook for now. How goes the house? 🙂

      2. The house is coming along, Jo, but now they’ve extended the anticipated finish date to July 8. I was expecting mid- to late-June, so now am getting a little antsy. I can at least walk around in the partially finished kitchen now, but there is still a way to go. Paint colors are my big headache now. I just can’t decide!!!

      3. Head in a bucket! 🙂 🙂 Eeny-meeny-miney-mo 🙂 Good luck! Hugs, Cathy! I’m off to make coffee (and maybe naughty cake) then I have to start the walk.

Leave a Reply

