our last morning in chincoteague, a stop in assateague & berlin, and return home

Monday, October 26:  This morning, it’s time to head home after our weekend in Chincoteague.  I’m sad to leave because we’ve had such a wonderful time exploring the wildlife refuge by car, on foot, and by bicycle.  First, we have our coffee in the sitting room at the Channel Bass Inn.

Mike in the sitting room of the Channel Bass Inn
Mike in the sitting room of the Channel Bass Inn
me in the morning after my birthday :-)
me in the morning after my birthday 🙂

Since we are the only guests in the inn this Monday morning, the innkeepers Barbara and David serve us and then eat breakfast with us.  It’s almost as if we’re their personal guests. 🙂

David has created a fabulous yogurt and fruit parfait, fresh fruits blended together and swirled through a creamy Greek yogurt.

Breakfast at the Channel Bass Inn
Breakfast at the Channel Bass Inn
the Dining Room at the Channel Bass Inn
the Dining Room at the Channel Bass Inn

One of Barbara’s new creations is her Mexican Eggs, shown below, in flour tortilla cups. Here is her recipe: Mexican Eggs.  They are delicious. 🙂

Mexican eggs for breakfast
Mexican eggs for breakfast
Mike, me, Barbara and David (the innkeepers)
Mike, me, Barbara and David (the innkeepers)

We take a quick spin around the town of Chincoteague, stopping here and there to take a few pictures, including this colorful mural.

Mural in the town of Chincoteague
Mural in the town of Chincoteague
Chincoteague
Chincoteague

After leaving Chincoteaugue, we head an hour north back to Assateague Island, where we take one more walk around the Marsh Trail before having lunch in Berlin, Maryland.

Marsh walk on Assateague Island
Marsh walk on Assateague Island
Marsh walk on Assateague Island
Marsh walk on Assateague Island
Marsh walk on Assateague Island
Marsh walk on Assateague Island
Chincoteague Bay
Chincoteague Bay
Marsh walk on Assateague Island
Marsh walk on Assateague Island
birds on Assateague Island
birds on Assateague Island
birds on Assateague Island
birds on Assateague Island
me with the birds
me with the birds
birds on Assateague Island
birds on Assateague Island
Marsh walk on Assateague
Marsh walk on Assateague
Marsh walk on Assateague
Marsh walk on Assateague
Mike on the Marsh walk on Assateague
Mike on the Marsh walk on Assateague
Marsh walk
Marsh walk
Marsh walk
Marsh walk
Marsh walk
Marsh walk
Marsh walk
Marsh walk
Marsh walk
Marsh walk
Mike on the Marsh Walk
Mike on the Marsh Walk
Marsh walk
Marsh walk

As we’re leaving Assateague Island, we come to a traffic jam where people are stopped along the road to see some of the wild ponies.

Wild pony on Assateague
Wild pony on Assateague

One lady is standing with her car door open and her hand extended with some kind of food in it, beckoning one of the ponies over.  I get so annoyed when people feed wildlife, despite warnings all over the refuge instructing people not to feed the ponies.  I say, “Oh my god!  You’re not supposed to feed the ponies!”  She gets defensive and says, “It’s just an apple!”  I just shake my head and walk away.  What is it with people? It doesn’t matter what the food is; feeding them makes them fearless around people, which is dangerous to both the animals and people.  There are pictures all over the park of people who have been bitten or kicked by the ponies when they’ve gotten too close.

Wild pony on Assateague
Wild pony on Assateague
Wild ponies on Assateague
Wild ponies on Assateague
Wild pony on Assateague
Wild pony on Assateague

Mike is especially happy that, after a childhood being obsessed by horses, I’m able to get a picture of Misty of Chincoteague. 🙂

Wild pony on Assateague
Wild pony on Assateague
Wild pony on Assateague
Wild pony on Assateague
crossing over Chincoteague Bay
crossing over Chincoteague Bay

After leaving Assateague Island, we’re ready for lunch so we head to the nearby town of Berlin, where we have a lunch of two soups, chicken and dumpling soup for me and crab soup for Mike, and a shared mushroom quiche at Siculi Italian Kitchen.  After our cozy lunch, we drive home the three hours to northern Virginia.

It’s been a great 60 years! 🙂

14 thoughts on “our last morning in chincoteague, a stop in assateague & berlin, and return home

  1. What a lovely way to spend such a special birthday (not that you look you age at all!!!)!! I am glad you finally saw some ponies up close!! I was not a horse-crazy girl but nevertheless I devoured the “Misty of Chincoteague” books when I was a little girl, too!! I agree, stupid people who insist on feeding while animals – the same of breed of people who travel to exotic places and then give the locals candy bars rather than money when taking photos of them (in these cases this is one of the few ways these people can earn a living). People are just plain stupid and it really makes me hate travelling sometimes, how thoughtless and ignorant people can be re the long term damage their silly actions can have.

    The photos reminded me of our world before we humans wrecked so much of it – natural marshes seen as the wonderlands they are for wildlife, not useless swamps which require draining at every opportunity. I don’t know, Cathy, does this planet have a hope in …. that it will survive? I wonder sometimes.

    I hope there is a cocktail hour coming soon! I think you guys are really being hammered by the weather there on the East Coast, I hope it does not stop you from making more weekend excursions you will be sharing with us. I cannot imagine how nice it will be when it snows, finally, though I love your photos rain or shine or sleet or snow!!

    Loved the photo with the very close up of the oat grass in the immediate foreground. Beautiful, and the sand dunes, well …. words fail me living so far from an ocean how beautiful they are.

    Cannot wait for what’s coming next, as always!! Thank you for sharing your birthday with us, we all hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving and that you will be sharing a bit of that with us, too in the next cocktail hour!!

    Mona Lisa

    1. Hi Mona Lisa, I haven’t heard from you in a while. I hope all is well. We had a great time in Chincoteague, and then on the weekend of November 13, we took another trip to Antietam, Maryland and Sharpsburg for our anniversary. It’s been quite busy with Thanksgiving and family affairs, so I haven’t been able to blog, or do a cocktail hour, as often as I’d like. Hopefully, I’ll have time to do one soon!

      Yes, it really irritated me about that woman feeding the ponies and hiding behind her open car door as she beckoned them to her. Oh well, people are often selfish, and even I can be so at times, as we all can. No one is perfect and I guess we’d be better off if we didn’t expect them to be.

      We’ve had some cold rainy weather over the last couple of days, making me want to stay hunkered indoors, although it’s even cold in the house! I find myself slacking off on my exercise because I hate doing stationary exercises like the treadmill or exercise bike and I long to walk outdoors. All that work to lose weight and now, after Thanksgiving and the awful weather, the pounds are creeping back on. I guess I have to make myself go to the gym today, as much as I hate it.

      By the way, we watched Enlightenment Guaranteed and Jet Lag, which we both enjoyed, but when I tried to play In the Mood for Love (now I realize it’s the Chinese one), it wouldn’t play in our DVD player. I’ll be sending all of them back soon! Thanks so much for sending them.

      I hope you have some fun plans for Christmas. How is your job going? Hope we can talk soon! xxx

Leave a Reply

