a day trip to solomons, maryland ~ a taste of real summer :-)

Tuesday, July 29:  The heat and humidity certainly indicate that summer is here in northern Virginia, but as we don’t live near the water, it doesn’t seem like summer.  I grew up in southern Virginia, near Wormley Creek off the York River and not too far from Virginia Beach.  We used to spend our summer days either crabbing from a dock, swimming in the creek, river or ocean, motor-boating, sailing, water-skiing, or lying on the beach slathered in coconut oil.  Everything revolved around the water.  Here in northern Virginia, summers are simply an annoyance.  I hate the heat and humidity when there are no sea breezes and no water activities nearby.

I’ve been wanting to visit Solomons and Calvert Cliffs in southern Maryland, less than a 2 hour drive from my house, but I’ve not been able to find the time to go for an overnight.  I’ve also been hesitant to fight the traffic headed to the beach every weekend.  So today, a Tuesday in the middle of my work week (I teach Monday, Wednesday and Thursday mornings), I decide on a whim to hop in the car and go to Solomons for the day.

Solomons was actually an island until about 1868, according to Moon Handbooks: Maryland & Delaware.  Isaac Solomon, who developed oyster canning in Baltimore, purchased “Sandy Island” and built a processing plant at the northern end.   The channel that separated the mainland from the island was gradually filled in with oyster shells until only a ditch remained.

I get a late start since I decided to take this trip at the last minute.  By the time I arrive, I’m just in time for lunch at Solomons Pier.

Solomon's Pier
Solomons Pier
Blackened shrimp tacos for lunch
Blackened shrimp tacos for lunch

My lunch is wonderfully pleasant.  The weather is superb today, in the high 70s.  A cool breeze blows off the Patuxent River.  I haven’t had such a pleasant moment all summer.  I want to sit here all day and bask in the sun and the breeze and the sight of the sun reflecting off the water.  But alas, there are sights to be seen, so off I go for a walk along Patuxent Avenue.

I come across this charming little Episcopal church, St. Peter’s.

St. Peter's Episcopal Church
St. Peter’s Episcopal Church
St. Peter's Episcopal Church
St. Peter’s Episcopal Church
St. Peter's Episcopal Church
St. Peter’s Episcopal Church
St. Peter's Episcopal Church
St. Peter’s Episcopal Church

Beside the church are some pretty irises.

flowers beside St. Peter's
flowers beside St. Peter’s

I walk south of the pier and see the view of Solomons Pier and the Governor Thomas Johnson Bridge, which crosses the Patuxent River to St. Mary’s City.

Solomon's Pier
Solomons Pier
Solomon's Pier and the Governor Thomas Johnson Bridge
Solomons Pier and the Governor Thomas Johnson Bridge

Along the south shore, piers jut into the water and boats bob in the waves.

Piers south of Solomon's Pier on the Patuxent River
Piers south of Solomons Pier on the Patuxent River
Sailboat on the Patuxent River
Sailboat on the Patuxent River

I find this cute little shop, with these two polished old-fashioned bicycles out front.

Solomon's Gallery
Solomons Gallery

As I walk further south into a quaint neighborhood of weathered houses, I see more piers and boats.

weathered house
weathered house
piers
piers
pier with kayaks
pier with kayaks
flowers and pier
flowers and pier
boathouse, pier and the bridge in the distance
boathouse, pier and the bridge in the distance
a duck poking around in the grass
a duck poking around in the grass

I veer left down Charles Street where I find a marina full of boats but not a human in sight. I find these gauzy curtains dancing in the strong breeze.  They seem ghostlike in this deserted place.

the wind whips around these gauzy curtains at the abandoned marina
the wind whips these gauzy curtains about at the deserted marina

There are plenty of boats waiting patiently for their owners.

boats at the marina
boats at the marina
piers
piers
a yellow catamaran
a yellow catamaran
catamaran, another angle
catamaran, another angle
a cozy little boat, flip flops and all
a cozy little boat, flip flops and all

As I walk among the boats at this marina, not a soul is in sight.  The wind is gusting and the boats seem to be conversing in a language of their own, groaning, clanking, whining.  They seem a little lonely today.

electric chargers look like rigid little men, waiting to be put to use
electric chargers look like rigid little men, waiting to be put to use
Hello, Miss Betty
Hello, Miss Betty
pretty sailboats all in a row
pretty sailboats all in a row
a boat with a garden
a boat with a garden
Life buoy, Pump Out Station and ICE
Life buoy, Pump Out Station and ICE
Across Back Creek: Solomon's Yachting Center & Calvert Marina
Across Back Creek: Solomons Yachting Center & Calvert Marina
Fill 'er up!
Fill ‘er up!

Leaving the marina, I pass by this cozy Victorian bed and breakfast, Solomons Victorian Inn.

Solomon's Bed & Breakfast
Solomons Victorian Inn

Walking back down Charles Street, I come across this funky Tiki Bar.  There’s only one client in the open air bar in this early part of the afternoon.

Tiki Bar
Tiki Bar
Hats on Right, Pants Up Tight ~ No Exceptions
Hats on Right, Pants Up Tight ~ No Exceptions ~

I walk around the back where colorful Adirondack chairs, tables and giant heads are scattered about in the sand.

Welcome to the Tiki Bar
Welcome to the Tiki Bar
Which way should I go?
Which way should I go?

Finally, I head back to my car, and I take a parting shot of this old corrugated iron building with kayaks neatly stacked behind little boats filled with grass.

Not sure what this is...
Industrial still life

It’s such a pleasant time at Solomons on this breezy day.  Luckily I discover that it really doesn’t require an overnight stay, as there’s really not much to do unless you have a boat.

I have a mind to hike to Calvert Cliffs next, so I head north about 5 miles and enter Calvert Cliffs State Park, where I’m told it’s a 1.8 mile hike each way to get to the cliffs. I need my exercise after those blackened shrimp tacos, so off I go.

12 thoughts on “a day trip to solomons, maryland ~ a taste of real summer :-)

  1. Wow this looks like an awesome place to visit…adding it to my US bucket list now and those shrimp tacos…they look mouthwatering delicious!

    1. It was a lovely & peaceful place to visit especially after a long and tough summer for our family, Hannah. I wouldn’t say it’s one of the top destinations in the U.S. (not much to do there), but it was a nice day trip. 🙂

    1. Haha, no Gilly. Luckily there were people around, just not at the marina and on that one street where the Tiki Bar was. It’s so funny, I always order shrimp anything at a restaurant, because I can’t cook it myself. Too much work, all that deveining and shelling. 🙂

  2. Those tacos look delicious. Can I join you? (BTW those irises are actually Canna lilies – I know you always like to know the names of your flowers 😉 ) And thank you for taking me to the water. I love being near water and I am enjoying seeing your neighbourhood with you.
    Jude xx

    1. I wish you would join me, Jude! It would have been great to have some company. It was a lovely day though, and I was perfectly happy to be there even alone. Oh, I thought I got the flowers right this time, but little do I know! I can always count on you to set me straight.

      I wish this was my neighborhood, but even if it’s not mine, it’s somebody’s and at least I had the chance to visit it. It was such a lovely day; I really felt happy just to have gone on an outing. 🙂

  3. A fun day out, Cathy style 🙂 I’m trying to decide between the garden boat or the catamaran. Think I’d get further in the cat! Let’s go hijack a boat, Cathy 🙂
    And still the cliffs to come!

    1. Jo, it was a wonderful day and I’m really glad I made myself go instead of just hanging around at home all day. I loved that catamaran, painted such a cheery yellow as it was. I would have liked to hijack one of those boats, and there would have been no one around to notice! Don’t get too excited about the cliffs. Dover Cliffs they weren’t!

Leave a Reply

