an afternoon with light-crazed sunflowers

“Bring me the sunflower crazed with the love of light.” ~ Eugenio Montale

Saturday, July 19:  Today, two days after my mother-in-law passed away, I take a break from the funeral preparations to go to the McKee-Beshers Wildlife Management Area off River Road in Montgomery County, Maryland.  At this point, our family is waiting for her visitation and memorial service on Wednesday and Thursday, July 23 & 24, and there isn’t much to do but pass the time.  I decide I’ll create a tribute to her life filled with flowers, which she loved dearly.  I’ve mentioned before that she had a lovely garden, and I think she would have liked to wander through these fields of sun-drenched flowers.

It’s late in the afternoon when we arrive, and I’m surprised to find that the sunflowers are all facing away from the sun.  That seems counter-intuitive to me.  It also makes taking photos challenging, as we have to face into the sun.  I end up taking a lot of photos of the backs of the flowers.  Many of the sunflowers are past their prime, but some of them are perfect.

I hope you’ll enjoy the sunflowers on this lazy summer day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are a lot of people out posing with the sunflowers today.

People posing with the sunflowers
People posing with the sunflowers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe have a long and sad week coming up, and hopefully my memory and photos of these sunflowers will bring us some happy moments in the days ahead. 🙂

 

11 thoughts on “an afternoon with light-crazed sunflowers

  1. Your pictures are wonderful. What is it about sunflowers that make them so appealing? Hugs to you and your family in these trying times.

    1. I don’t know, Carol, what makes sunflowers so appealing, but they are, aren’t they? They generally seem so happy, although as Jo mentions, these seem a little sad, even tragic. They’re a bit past their prime, but some still look pleased to be alive in this world. Thanks for your hugs, Carol. We can feel them here. xxx

  2. Cathy, these are priceless! This is like your very own Van Gogh 🙂 Some of them have such sad faces (even the smiley one 🙂 ) and even an air of tragedy. I really think this is some of your best work ever. The lady would have loved them.

    1. Thank you so much, Jo. I’ve always wanted to take pictures of sunflowers, ever since I saw fields of them in Spain, but then I couldn’t stop because we had a tour guide who was driving us. I’m so glad I found out about this place in Maryland. I think you’re right, they do look sad, as they’re a little past their prime and on their way out. I like that: “an air of tragedy.” It’s too bad my mother-in-law couldn’t have seen them in person; I think you’re right, she would have loved them! Thanks too Jo, for your kind words and for you tweets! 🙂

  3. God bless you! These photos are beautiful and I loved that you captured some bees and a butterfly. How we take eating sunflower seeds for granted! Look where they come from! Nature is so full of miracles which your photos remind us to treasure. Thank you!! And I am so sorry for your loss. xxx

Leave a Reply

