kenilworth park & aquatic gardens

Saturday, June 22: This morning, I get up extra early to drive to northeast Washington (I live southwest of Washington) to see the water lilies at Kenilworth Park & Aquatic Gardens.  Word has it among photographers that one must arrive here when the park opens at 7 a.m. to catch the lilies before they close up in the heat of the day.  This is yet another place in the region that I’ve never visited before, and I’m glad I make the effort to drag myself out of bed so early.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA“Wealth, the beauty of youth, and flowers are guests for only a few days. Like the leaves of the water-lily, they wither and fade and finally die.” ~ Siri Guru Granth Sahib

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAccording to the Friends of Kenilworth Aquatic Gardens, this is the only national park devoted to cultivated water-loving plants. This unique habitat, featuring exotic water lilies and lotus, is an oasis for nature lovers, a haven for walkers, hikers, photographers and birdwatchers.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The marshes along the Anacostia River have a rich and varied natural and cultural history. From the Nacotchtank Indians to early American settlers, to contemporary African American communities, the area we now know as Kenilworth Aquatic Gardens has been home to a variety of people for more than 4,000 years.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 2014-06-22 08.41.14 2014-06-22 08.41.34 2014-06-22 09.20.33 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHow many more discoveries can I make in this area in the next two months, before I head off to China? 🙂

36 thoughts on “kenilworth park & aquatic gardens

  1. Beautiful beautiful things, aren’t they? I’m glad you got yourself there early so you could show them to us in that lovely soft light, still bearing the morning’s dew (or was it last night’s rain?). You’re doing so well, exploring at home 🙂

    1. They were really beautiful, Meredith, and I was lucky that I arrived immediately after a rainstorm, which meant the light was interesting and the raindrops were still on the flowers. I’m trying to explore at home, but some days it doesn’t seem as exciting as exploring abroad. 🙂

      1. Well, I accepted a job at Guangxi University in Nanning, in the south. It’s not far from Vietnam and about 3 1/2 hours by bus from Guilin. I’m very excited about the adventure!

      2. Maybe the trick is to not link your Catbirdinchina (?) blok to Facebook? I’ve been following a Canadian couple teaching in Shanghai for a couple of years (http://canadiantravelbugs.wordpress.com) – there have been times like the anniversary of Tiananmen Square, when they’ve been cut off, but you might like to chat to them to see what their experience is. Yours, so far away from the bright lights will be subject to other considerations too – I’m so excited for you 🙂

    1. Oh, welcome to D.C., Annette! Yes, they’re open every day; here are the hours: http://www.nps.gov/keaq/planyourvisit/hours.htm

      If you feel like getting together for a photography outing while you’re here, I’d love to see you!! I don’t want to get up early on Sunday though…. 🙂 But another time during the long weekend. Or to meet for lunch or dinner? You’re probably already booked, but if not, let me know!

      1. I’m going to a conference in Silver Spring, so Sunday morning is my only time… sure you don’t want to meet me there? or perhaps on the way out? are you close to the Rte 64 corridor? E-mail me, if Sunday closer to noon would work for you.

      2. Oh, Annette, I hope the conference is something fun and exciting! I don’t even know now if I’ll be around this weekend. My dad just went into the hospital two nights ago for some unexpected surgery and I may now need to go down to Yorktown to visit him. And my daughter just came up here from Richmond, because my mother-in-law just was admitted to the hospital and will be released in the next day or two under the care of hospice. When it rains, it pours. I’ll let you know if I do stay around here. 🙂

      3. Hi Cathy – I went to the Aquatic Gardens this morning, managed to get myself lost (bad GPS!) but finally found it. so glad I persisted. The lotus flowers are just stunning, can’t wait to prepare a blogpost with some of the pictures. Right now, I am wading thru 1100 pictures!
        Hope your weekend went well.

      4. Annette, I’m so glad you made it to the gardens, despite the GPS. It is a little confusing to get there; I had a few problems myself. 1100 pictures!! My gosh. And I thought I had a lot at 279!! Can’t wait to see your post on it. Sorry I couldn’t meet you. I was dealing with my mother-in-law and my father all weekend. It wasn’t a fun 4th weekend. xxx

      5. Thanks for the link, Annette. You wrote a fascinating and well-thought-out post. It was interesting and makes me wonder about a lot of groups. I wrote a longer comment on your blog post. Excellent. 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Jude. It was fun to try to capture some good photos of these beautiful lotus and water lilies. I used a tripod for many of them; I’ve never much used one before. It was a fun experiment. 🙂

      1. Ah, tripods. We have three if you include the gorillapod, but apart from that one I have never used one. I really should to get better flower photos.

      2. Well, I’ve had a tripod for quite some time, Jude, but I’m usually too lazy to bother with it. I’m glad I made the effort this time, though i can’t help but wonder how the pictures would have turned out without it. 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Sylvia. I’m due to arrive in China on September 1 and I’ll be based in Nanning, about 3 1/2 hours by bus from Guilin and near Vietnam. I’m excited to have a new adventure. 🙂

      1. Thanks so much, Sylvia! I love being able to do these adventures, and I may as well do them before people won’t hire me anymore because of my age. I’m already hitting up against many age barriers. These foreign countries just say outright: Age limit 50 or 60 or whatever. Some won’t accept teachers over 40! Many schools in China have a mandatory retirement of 60, but I understand the university where I’m going has a 65 retirement age. I figure I better do this while I can. There will be so much to see and do in China! I can’t wait. 🙂

  2. Oh, wow, Cathy! And Wow again!!! I came directly here because I needed a bit of cheer and what do I find? These are fabulous photos. I have some total favourites that I would put up on a wall any day. The close ups with the raindrops- wow!!! Forget writing- be a photographer! (I’m joking)

    And thank you for answering my question in your comments. 1st September- that’s the day I go back to Tavira. Hugs, darlin. Yes, still sad, but nothing to do but smile, Cathy, and love one another. 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Jo. I went out with serious intent to take some good photos on this day. Funny, the whole time I was driving to the gardens, it was raining and I kept thinking, oh no! It wasn’t supposed to rain. It may ruin my photo shoot. But the rain stopped just before I arrived and it left all those raindrops on the flowers. I also took my tripod along and used it for the second time ever. I think that helped with the quality of the photos. It was fun!

      Yes, nothing to do but savor each day and love one another. You’re so right, Jo. Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

