the district’s eastern market

Sunday, June 8:  Isn’t it funny sometimes how we’ll spend thousands of dollars to travel to distant lands, yet we’re often too lazy to venture out to discover new places in our own backyards? It takes some prodding, but this morning, I talk Mike into going with me into DC to visit Eastern Market.  I’ve heard about it over the years, but I’ve never been before.

Welcome to Eastern Market!
Welcome to Eastern Market!

Even though we live in the District’s Northern Virginia suburbs, it’s not often we feel like trekking into the city.  Parking is a hassle and at this time of year, the city is thick with tourists.  Today is no exception; we have to drive around quite a long time to find a parking spot, and then we have to walk quite a distance to the market.  We could have taken metro, but honestly, I find that more of a hassle than dealing with parking.  Here are some of the houses in the Capitol Hill neighborhood around Eastern Market.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAccording to its website, Eastern Market is Washington DC’s original and premier food & arts market. Located in the heart of the historic Capitol Hill neighborhood, Eastern Market is DC’s destination for fresh food, community events, and on weekends, local farm-fresh produce and handmade arts and crafts.

Fruits & vegetables for sale at Eastern Market
Fruits & vegetables for sale at Eastern Market
Hats, anyone?
Hats, anyone?
the indoor market
the indoor market
fruits and vegetables
fruits and vegetables
flowers
flowers
grape tomatoes
grape tomatoes

We come across a cute shop with exotic things for sale. The shop reminds me of all my travels through Asia, making me nostalgic.

An exotic shop in the neighborhood
An exotic shop in the neighborhood
Goods from exotic lands
Goods from exotic lands
pretty rugs
pretty rugs
and painted cabinets
and painted cabinets

We’re lucky in that we’ve picked a beautiful day.  At this time of year in Washington, it’s often too hot and humid to be outdoors, but the weather today is in the 70s and breezy.  It’s a perfect day for an outing.  I manage to control my impulses to buy anything, despite many temptations.

Eastern Market
Eastern Market
Mirrors at Eastern Market
Mirrors at Eastern Market
Eastern Market
Eastern Market
Eastern Market cabinets with a taste of Asia
Eastern Market cabinets with a taste of Asia
Eastern Market
Eastern Market
Eastern Market
Eastern Market
Eastern Market
Eastern Market

We do have lunch after we walk through the sprawling market.  I’d highly recommend visitors to DC visit this lively market: Eastern Market

Getting chubby on American food!
Getting chubby on American food!

 

24 thoughts on “the district’s eastern market

  1. That looks like a totally cool place to visit! You know, we have had similar issues in our new country. Once we got settled, we were more often to stay home than to venture out. I wonder what happens to us? Still, so glad you made this visit. It looks like a place I’d enjoy, as well.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    1. I know how it is, Kathy. I was getting that way at the end of my stay in Oman. I think we all tend to gravitate to homebody stage if we stay in one place too long! I’m glad you enjoyed the market with me. 🙂

  2. Love the houses in the Capitol Hill neighbourhood, but I bet they don’t come cheap! I wouldn’t fancy those (Balinese?) masks on my wall, but perhaps a rug and painted cupboard. I need to inject some colour into my home. You did well to resist 😀

    1. You can bet those houses on Capitol Hill are very expensive, Jude! I like those masks and I wouldn’t mind having one or two myself. I bought one from Nepal, and it’s still sitting in the basement with all my other collection. There’s no room in this house unless I get rid of something else. It was hard to resist, but I feel it’s somehow cheating if I didn’t BUY the thing abroad!

  3. A little bit of the Orient to get you in the mood, Cathy 🙂
    The cabinets are great, aren’t they? And you didn’t spend any of Mike’s money. I’m impressed!
    I might have liked one of those hats.

Leave a Reply

