an afternoon at doukénie winery

Saturday, May 24:  This afternoon is gorgeous, so we drive out west into the country to taste some wines at Doukénie Winery, a family operation in Virginia’s Wine Country in Loudoun County.  The Bazaco family traces their success back to a 14 year-old Greek girl who in 1919 boarded a boat for the journey to America.

Welcome to Doukénie Winery
Welcome to Doukénie Winery
Silo at Doukénie Winery
Silo at Doukénie Winery

In 1981, the land at the foot of Short Hill Mountains was being farmed for corn, hay and cattle. The mid-eighties were an exciting time in the viticulture business in Virginia and the Bazacos decided to plant their first vineyard in 1986. The winemaking business came later as the winery itself was constructed in 1995. In many ways, this activity takes the family full circle as the young Greek girl who was boarding the boat was leaving her farm where her father, a local sheriff, also was a winemaker.

Me at Doukénie Winery
Me at Doukénie Winery

We taste the wines and then buy a bottle, which we share out on the patio under an umbrella, accompanied by cheese and crackers.  We have a lovely view of a small pond, some farmland and cows.  After having our wine we wander along a path beside the pond.  A relaxing afternoon all around.

Mike, Adam and Alex
Mike, Adam and Alex
the vineyards
the vineyards
vineyards and pretty clouds
vineyards and pretty clouds
Silo and picnic tables at Doukénie Winery
Silo and picnic tables at Doukénie Winery
the pond
the pond
the view over the pond
the view over the pond
a lone cow
a lone cow
Doukénie Winery
Doukénie Winery
Silo & pond at Doukénie Winery
Silo & pond at Doukénie Winery
farmland at Doukénie Winery
farmland at Doukénie Winery
fence to infinity
fence to infinity
pond and pretty clouds at Doukénie Winery
pond and pretty clouds at Doukénie Winery
fence
fence
fence on the grounds of Doukénie Winery
fence on the grounds of Doukénie Winery
a lone cow on the farm
a lone cow on the farm
ducks on the pond
ducks on the pond
16 thoughts on “an afternoon at doukénie winery

  1. A nice time was had by all by the looks of things. I hope to visit an English vineyard next month, it will probably be very different to this one! How’s things going on the work front Cathy? Any progress?
    Jude xx

    1. Hi Jude, sorry it took me so long to respond! I hope you’ll enjoy your English vineyard. I was never able to get a job here in the US, so it looks like I’ll be going abroad again. More on that to follow. Thanks for checking in with me. xxx

      1. How do Mike and the boys feel about you going abroad again? Seems so stupid that your skills and experience aren’t wanted in the US. What’s the pension system like over there?

      2. Hey Jude, they’re actually supportive of me going because they understand my wanderlust. Social security doesn’t begin until retirement age of 67 or so these days. Mike has a pension and retirement savings, but I don’t really have anything of my own since I was a stay-at-home mom for 15 years and haven’t worked here in the USA that much. I think it’s ridiculous that I can’t get a decent job here. It’s such a youth-worshiping culture here in America. It was only when I started applying to work abroad that I got any response at all to my applications!

  2. I feel quite light headed with that wine, Cathy. I’m taking good care not to fall in! 🙂
    How goes the book? Any progress?
    I’m SO excited for you! Poor old Mike is probably just resigned 😦 A China visit likely for the boys? I have no idea of flight costs from the US. Hugs, darling!

    1. The book is done, Jo, but I’m hung up on the query letter. How to summarize a complicated tale of 359 pages in two short paragraphs, with a one line sentence at the beginning summing up the essence of the story in a captivating way?? I should have done as many suggested and written the query letter first, then written the novel based on that. Too late for that now. Maybe I’ll tackle it again today. Wish me luck!

      I don’t know if the boys will visit China; they’re getting too old for us to pay for them to travel. But Mike may come to visit while I’m there. 🙂

  3. What a gorgeous place! Cheers to your lovely visit.

    Hope you are doing well, Cathy. Sorry to have been gone for so long. We were without internet for two weeks and then I traveled to the US for nearly another two. So glad to be home!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    1. I hope your visit to the US was good, Kathy. I’m still waiting to see your post about reverse culture shock. I was really hoping to make it to Ecuador while in the USA, but I guess it’s not to be. Maybe next year!! I’m behind in visiting your blog too. Have had a lot on my plate with applying for jobs in China. 🙂

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Sylvia. Sorry I haven’t replied sooner. All is going well, thanks, and it looks like I should be going to China in September on a 10 month contract. I’ll write more about it before too long. I am so out of the blogging community now, but I hope all is well with you. Hopefully I’ll get back in the groove soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

