a morning visit to the franciscan monastery

Saturday, May 24:  Today, I go with a photography group to visit the Franciscan Monastery in Washington.  I already wrote about it a post in August 2011 (the franciscan monastery in washington: gardens & shrines), and I don’t want to repeat myself, so if you’d like to know more of the history, you can check out the earlier post.  For today, I’ll simply post some pictures from this beautiful May morning.

Entrance to the Franciscan Monastery
Entrance to the Franciscan Monastery
Gardens at the Franciscan Monastery
Gardens at the Franciscan Monastery
the Monastery
the Monastery
facade of the Monastery
facade of the Monastery
cloisters
cloisters
peeking out from the cloisters
peeking out from the cloisters
roses
roses
roses
roses
gardens
gardens
roses and gardens
roses and gardens
view of gardens from cloisters
view of gardens from cloisters
the Monastery
the Monastery
a cute little building covered in vines
a cute little building covered in vines

To see a slide show, just click on any of the images below.

33 thoughts on “a morning visit to the franciscan monastery

  1. Gorgeous! I shall have to go and read your other post now 🙂
    Jude xx

    Hope everything is going well. You’ve certainly got much better weather than we have at the moment – typical Bank Holiday weather, it is raining!

    1. I heard it was raining from Jo. It’s good I have all you Brits to keep me informed of what’s going on over there. I already mentioned to Jo that I didn’t want to rub it in, but we have a 3-day weekend for Memorial Day, and the weather is stunning. A last bit of decent weather I imagine before our hot humid summer sets in. Sorry about the rain. 😦

    1. Oh yes, the twisted cloister columns would be great for that challenge. I’m so far out of the loop these days, I’m lucky if I have time to post once a week. I haven’t been doing photo challenges at all. I miss all my blogging. Maybe if I end up in China, I’ll be back to blogging. 🙂

      1. I am serious about China, Jude, and yes, I do have itchy feet already. I’ve actually had them all along, ever since I returned home. I’ll be hitting the upper age limit for China though, but this may be my last chance as many schools have a cut off of 60, or a mandatory retirement age of 60. This is my last chance, as I see it, to get in a year there and explore!!

  2. Wonderful roses, Cathy! My mum’s favourites. And I like Jude’s twisted columns and the irises too. Isn’t our blogging world funny (but in a good way!) Have fun tonight 🙂

    1. Thanks Sylvia. All is well, thanks. Haven’t been blogging or reading blogs much but I did finish my novel and am getting ready to start sending it out. I hope you’re well too!!!

    1. I didn’t know they were called Double Delight roses, Carol. Thanks for the nomenclature!! It was a lovely place; I’ve been there before though, so nothing new!! You know me, I crave novelty. 🙂

  3. I forgot to ask how work went yesterday in my comment this morning? Sorry! Was it ok?
    Reading down, I didn’t know that about the 60 age limit, Cathy. I’m with Jude- go for it, hon. If it’s just a year, what’s to lose, and you know Mike’s a sweetheart. It’ll probably give you material for another book, Cathy. You can call it research! 🙂 I would LOVE to see some of China.

    1. My class for this summer is so nice, Jo! It’s only part-time, which is pretty nice (3 mornings a week for 2 1/2 hours), and only 9 women students, all from different cultures, and all grown women who live in the US and want to improve their English to have better job prospects. Certainly no discipline problems in this group, which makes it a real pleasure. By the way, I have two Skype interviews coming up for China jobs. We’ll see what happens. 🙂 I would love a year to explore China!

  4. I was about 10 or 11 years old my first visit to a monastery. Yet all these years later I remember it vividly. Much like this one with very historic architecture. But what I remember most … the lunch they served in silence! And the milk, that blessed whole milk, so rich in flavour.

    Thanks for evoking a memory 😉

    1. Thanks for your visit and comment, Loca Gringa. On my first stop at a monastery in England, there was a school group there doing a monk re-enactment. It was very cool, and they had to eat in silence on dirt floors. I’m glad I was able to evoke a memory!

  5. Good luck for the interviews for China jobs! (sorry I read the asnwers to the previous comments) Hope you get it, I know you’re longing for travel 🙂 Wonderful pictures Cathy! I love the colors… 🙂

    1. Thanks so much Elisa. I got two offers, but the pay is too low and I can’t take them. The one I really want, I’m waiting to hear on. Sigh. Who knows if I’ll make it there…. I am longing for travel, too much!! I’m glad you like the photos!

Leave a Reply

