a hike at white oak canyon

Friday, April 18:  This morning, we go for a hike at White Oak Canyon in Shenandoah National Park.  This four-hour hike follows along a flowing stream and leads to some of the most beautiful waterfalls in the park.  This is the best time of year to go on this hike because of the high water levels from the spring melt-off.

Adam prepares for hiking
Adam prepares for hiking
White Oak Canyon stream
White Oak Canyon run
streams
White Oak Canyon Run
water flowing down the mountain
water flowing down the mountain
boulder crossing
boulder crossing
Adam
Adam

The only bad thing is that I’m exhausted from an overnight stay Thursday night at American Sleep Clinic. I’ve been having sleep problems lately, and last night at the clinic was not at all restful as I was hooked up to a bunch of wires. I am wiped out before we even start out, and the fact that the first half of the hike is uphill doesn’t help one bit.

ferns and rocks
ferns and rocks
waterfalls
waterfalls
Upper and Lower White Oak Falls
Upper and Lower White Oak Falls
Lower White Oak Falls
Lower White Oak Falls
Upper White Oak Falls
Upper White Oak Falls
ferns in black & white
ferns in black & white

Luckily, it’s a beautiful day, weather-wise, with a nice cool breeze.  Sadly, the green hasn’t really come out on the trees yet, so it’s a little browner than I would have liked.  But we do find a few glimpses of color here and there.

little white flowers
little white flowers
Adam crosses a log bridge
Adam crosses a log bridge
stream bed
stream bed
boulder crossing
boulder crossing
standing water
standing water
flowers
flowers
Adam
Adam
White Oak Canyon stream
White Oak Canyon stream
Old Rag Cottage
Old Rag Cottage
Redbud at Graves Mountain Lodge
Eastern Redbud at Graves Mountain Lodge

Needless to say, when I return home, I take a long hot bath and then drop off to sleep for an early night. 🙂

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
19 thoughts on “a hike at white oak canyon

    1. Yes, Carol, though it’s quite lovely here in northern Virginia, I think it’s a little slower to show signs of spring in the mountains, where it’s colder. I don’t think it will be long though, before it’s spring there.

  1. It always takes so much longer for the trees to turn green than I expect it to, Cathy. Ours have just started to turn in a terrific hurry because we’ve had lots of sunshine and a sea of rain! It’s April, right? Did you cross over that narrow log, like Adam? I’d have had a wet bum for sure! Love all that rushing water and it looks warm with just t-shirts on. Or is that Adam being macho? 🙂

    With all that’s going on (or not!) it’s no wonder you have sleep problems, Cathy! It’s hard for your mind to switch off when you’re always ‘questing’. Have you tried natural remedies? The long hikes probably help to ‘knock you out’ too 🙂

    Getting myself nervous and in a tizzy about the Polish visit, but it’ll be fine once I’m gone (I hope) 🙂 Take good care, hon. Big hugs xxx

    1. Jo, the trees in northern Virginia are all green and blossomy now, but the ones in the mountains seem to be taking much longer! It must be a lot colder there. I wouldn’t try to cross over the log because I’d be in the water for sure. I have a terrible sense of balance! It was pretty cold on this day, but it was exhilarating, even though I was tired, to be out in fresh air.

      Don’t worry about your Polish visit. I’m sure it will all be fine. How long will you be there? I hope you have a grand time!

      1. 10 days, including a couple of days in the Pieniny mountains. I’m hoping it’s warm enough to do the river raft through the Dunajec Gorge but it’s 3C at present!
        Thanks Cathy 🙂

  2. Another lovely hike – you make me feel so guilty. I am going to make a big effort once I get back from London next week. And such pretty flowers and blossom. The Eastern Redbud must be related to what we call the “Judas Tree” http://wp.me/p3jVw4-4r – it is beautiful 🙂

  3. Okay, I’m trying to catch up , Cathy.

    This looks like an awesome place to hike. However, “bridge” is a generous word to describe that log Adam is crossing. YIKES!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    1. I hope to be catching up soon too, Kathy! It was a great hike and the “bridge” is just up Adam’s alley. He wouldn’t like it unless it presented some kind of challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

