baltimore’s privateer festival

Sunday, April 13:  Today, I join an iPhoneography group to mingle in the ranks of pirates ~ Ahoy, matey! ~ at the Privateer Festival in Fells Point, Baltimore.  The festival is to kick off the War of 1812 Battle for Baltimore bicentennial year with “sails flying, bombs bursting in air, and a full-scale land invasion of living history, music, dance, kids’ activities, arts, crafts, foods and libations.”  The celebration is in honor of Baltimore’s maritime prowess and Fell’s Point’s pivotal role in American history.  The festival includes performances by The Pyrates Royale, House of Cadarn, Valhallas Pirates and more.

Every time I join this photography group, I feel like I’m utterly clueless about all the latest iPhone apps used to take pictures.  I’m always fumbling about, trying to master the fancy adjustments that the others in the group seem to have mastered so easily.  So, with a caveat to my iPhone photography ability, come along, matey, to mingle with the pirates of Fells Point.

Argh, matey!
Argh, matey!
Raggedy Arsed Misfits of the Seven Seas
Raggedy Arsed Misfits of the Seven Seas
Raggedy Arsed Misfits of the Seven Seas
Raggedy Arsed Misfits of the Seven Seas
Random pirate gals
Random pirate gals
Interesting looking fellow
Interesting looking fellow
masts of the pirate ship
masts of the pirate ship
girl with umbrella
girl with umbrella
Pirate lady
Pirate lady
ships ahoy!
ships ahoy!
Colorful parrot
Colorful parrot
Hyacinth Macaw
Hyacinth Macaw
Healthy libations
Healthy libations
purple-feathered pirate
purple-feathered pirate
Performing pirates
Performing pirates
pirate shennanigans
pirate shennanigans
Baltimore Police Station
Baltimore Police Station
Fells Point
Fells Point
Arggh
Arggh
Pirate pistol
Pirate pistol
Snack time
Snack time
Pirate ship
Urban Pirates
Whatever
Whatever
Fells Point, Baltimore
Fells Point, Baltimore
Pretty houses all in a row, Fells Point
Pretty houses all in a row, Fells Point
Quirky shop
Quirky shop

After wandering about for quite some time through all the festivities, we all enjoy delicious pizza, after which time I drive back home to northern Virginia.  Fun times. 🙂

 

24 thoughts on “baltimore’s privateer festival

  1. Great photo op – you did well with your iPhone, but did you find yourself wishing you had your “real” camera instead? What a colorful – what? is it a village? – part of Baltimore.

    1. Thanks, Carol. It turned out I did okay with the iPhone, but you’re right, I did wish I had my real camera! I actually did have it in a backpack, but since I cheated last time I went out with this group, I tried to keep it to the iPhone. I still prefer the quality of pictures that comes from my camera!

  2. Always great to get your updates and pictures.
    Hope you had a good Easter and are doing well.
    Snow is gone and ice is out on the lake. (Spring is here)
    Hope to see you up here sometime this summer.

    1. Thanks, Ron, for continuing to follow along even though most of these posts seem quite mundane. I’m also pretty sporadic about posting these days. My Easter was good, thanks. Hope yours was good too! I’m glad Spring is finally there; I’m sure you’re relieved!

      I hope to meet you up there this summer too! Keeping fingers crossed! Enjoy your weekend!

  3. Oh, what fun and what a gorgeous place to visit. I think as far as learning about your phone goes, the first thing is that you are having a go at it and that’s how you’ll learn more. I reckon the next time you go out with this group you’ll be surprised at how much more you can do without being reminded or shown again. Great photos and a lovely story Cathy.

  4. Good times, Cathy! 🙂 I love the first couple of shots where they’re looking very stern, then some very jolly Jack Tars come on the scene. Honey, if you can’t handle apps what hope is there for me? I was relying on you for the tutorial!
    How was Easter?

    1. Haha, Jo, don’t count on me for a tutorial on anything technical. I barely function in that area! Easter was lovely. Still having no luck finding a job and feeling really discouraged right now. 😦

      1. Aww, Cathy! What are you going to do if nothing turns up? It just needs one decent employer out there to spot your enormous potential! Don’t give up!
        Have you planned something with Sarah to cheer you up a bit? 🙂

      2. I don’t know what I’m going to do, Jo! I apply for jobs and don’t hear anything back at all. I can’t even get invited for an interview. And that’s after 45 applications so far. It’s very disheartening. At least I’m coming to the finish line on my book. But then there’s the next hurdle, finding an agent or publisher!! So many uphill battles, but I guess there’s nothing to do but keep plugging along!

        Sarah’s birthday is tomorrow (she’s turning 30!), but she asked us to wait a couple more weeks to come visit. She’s in the middle of a very busy and stressful semester and won’t be able to relax till all is said and done.

      3. Well, that’s something on the horizon to look forward to. Positivity! You have your lovely family. You’re not starving. A publisher will snatch your hands off! (No, don’t Google it 🙂 That means he will be extremely grateful to receive it) 🙂 🙂 And if all else fails you’ll have to self publish and start on the next book!
        I know! I know! All very easy for me to say and where’s independence and free spirit in all this. Hugs, Cathy! It’s gotta turn out in the end.

      4. I hope so, Jo! Thanks for the words of encouragement. I’ll keep trying and something should turn up eventually. 🙂 I’m so ready to be finished with this book and start on the next one. I’m full of ideas! 🙂

  5. Looks like a lot of fun! And my hasn’t that umbrella lady got big bosoms!

    Read your conversation with Jo – sorry to hear the job situation hasn’t improved. I don’t know what kind of jobs your’e applying for, but if you’re not hearing back from anyone, maybe it is time to reconsider your options and try a different route? It is really frustrating when no-one gets back to you. I’ve been there myself.

    I know your ultimate goal is a writing career, but that’s a damn difficult one to get in to, and unless you become a best-seller, probably not that well paid, I hope you are entering all the travel writing competitions that are around! What about private tutoring? Or working in a library? Bookshop? Not exactly what you studied for I know, but is that a problem in itself? Are you over qualified? I really feel for you Cathy.

    If you are desperate to be independent maybe it is time for a re-think (now I shall have to go back and read your New Year post where you wrote about all the things you want to achieve this year) and as Jo says, we are rooting for you and sending lots of hugs 🐻
    Jude xx

    1. Thanks for your words of encouragement, Jude. I am applying for jobs in every conceivable field: international development, education, association work, travel assistant for non-profits, but still no luck. I do have an interview (as of yesterday) on May 15, but it’s only for a part-time job.

      I am almost finished polishing up (editing and cutting) my novel, and I’m going to start taking the next step soon to get it out there. I’m determined to either get it published or publish it myself, and granted, I may not make much money off of it, but it will be the realization of a life-long dream. I have also been involved with a lot of things with my photography, including entering competitions with a local photographic society, etc. I’m learning a lot in that regard. I haven’t done a single thing with the travel writing, the one thing I just haven’t had time for, with the time I”m devoting to job applications and my novel.

      I also just applied for another job abroad. I don’t know if I really want it, but I’m trying to apply only to places I’d really like to live for a while. I’m tired of hardship assignments!

      Thanks so much for your encouragement and hugs! xxx

      1. Thanks, Jude. It is up in Silver Spring, Maryland. Local, but because of the traffic, I fear it would be an hour commute each way. It’s only part time, but maybe that would work for me, since I’m trying to do other things. I was really hoping for full-time, with benefits. 🙂

      2. That’s a long commute.I used to do 45 minutes each way on a good day and that was enough. Although I did have time to switch off before arriving home!

Leave a Reply

