green spring gardens

Saturday, March 15:  Inspired by Ailsa’s travel challenge of gardens this week (Where’s my backpack? Travel Theme: Gardens) and by the momentary beautiful weather, I venture to Green Spring Gardens in Alexandria today in hopes of finding a glimpse of spring.

Inside the greenhouse, where it’s summer all the time, I find succulents and orchids, but outside, dirty remnants of snow still mar the brown grass and only a few crocuses peek out from the soil.  Nonetheless, the breeze carries the promise of spring.  Families stroll about and photographers snap pictures of brides and grooms.  It’s lovely to get outside for this fleeting spring day, as the mid-Atlantic is preparing for yet another snowstorm (3-6″) beginning Sunday night through Monday morning. Please!  Haven’t we had enough this winter?

orchid in the greenhouse
orchid in the greenhouse
orchid
orchid
orchid
orchid
in the greenhouse
in the greenhouse
succulents
succulents
succulents
succulents
succulents
succulents
cactus
cactus
succulents
succulents
cacti
cacti
succulents
succulents
crocuses
crocuses
other spring peepers
other spring peepers
gazebo on the pond
gazebo on the pond
gazebo
gazebo
Canadian goose
Canadian goose
path through the woods
path through the woods

At least we do have more daylight hours now, as daylight savings time began last Sunday. 🙂

35 thoughts on “green spring gardens

  1. Lovely photos, pretty little irises (the spring peepers), nice light through the Easter Cactus (mine is flowering at the moment) and a blue-sky day! We are having one of those too!
    Jude xx

    1. Ah, I’m glad to know those are irises, Jude. I knew I could count on some of my gardening friends to fill me in. Isn’t it nice after winter to finally have some warmth and sunshine? 🙂

  2. Seriously, Cathy? More snow? 😦 I bet you’ve got half a yen to be back in Oman. No snow there!
    We’re still getting a mix of weather but generally good for this time of year. Today was a bummer though! Beautiful and bright this morning (I did my Sunday veg in the garden 🙂 ). I planned a walk at the beach after lunch but by the time Dad left, the clouds were thick. So here I am with the laptop (and the ironing 😦 ) And your beautiful post, of course! Happy days, Cathy!

    1. Yes, Jo, we woke to 6″ of snow on the ground this morning. I don’t miss the heat of Oman though. Something in the middle would be nice! Sorry you didn’t get your afternoon walk on Sunday, but I see you did a lovely walk this morning. I like your idea of a walking invitation. We did make it to Great Falls yesterday, before the snow. It should be warmer again by the end of this week. It’s 23 degrees F now. 😦 Hugs, Jo! xxx

      1. Nightmare, Cathy! I’ve hardly worn boots this winter. And there I was sulking because it was a bit grey here this morning. But we still did a beach walk with the group and enjoyed it. 🙂

      2. Yes, it was 🙂 It’ll probably be next Monday’s walk but I haven’t looked at the photos yet. I’m much slower than you, Cathy.
        ‘Give up’? Don’t you dare mention the G word! 🙂

      3. Can’t wait to come along on that walk, Jo. Yes, don’t want to give up, but am getting very discouraged as far as the job search. Oh well. Who knows? I may end up going abroad again. It’s a shame when no one in your own country will hire you. 😦

  3. What a nice little vacation escape…..When I was in the DC area, I always loved to go to the Botanical Gardens near Capitol Hill. It’s huge, tropical and humid, and always makes you feel like you are 2000 miles South in the middle of winter 🙂
    It started snowing here this afternoon, cutting short the Maple Festival as all the vendors started packing up early to avoid getting caught on snowy roads on their way home. This was my Facebook status today:
    It’s snowing again. Hard. Oh Spring, you timid wench without a backbone, where did you disappear to? I’ll take you back in a heart beat! (Sorry for the melodrama) 🙂

    1. Yes, Annette, it was a nice spring break, although as you know it didn’t last long!

      I’ve been often to the Botanic Gardens. I just did a post on it in December: https://catbirdinamerica.wordpress.com/2013/12/29/an-evening-with-the-crowds-at-the-united-states-botanic-garden/

      You’re right, it is a nice escape from the winter doldrums!

      Oh no, I’m sorry that the Maple Festival was cut short. That’s really a shame for all those vendors, and for the locals. 😦 And I like your Facebook post. Melodrama is definitely called for with this winter we’ve had. 🙂

      1. Pitch, pitch, pitch. Once you have a couple of stories published then you can start asking for famils. In fact, I reckon you have enough blog followers to start doing that now. A good readership is worth talking about.

      2. I seem to be only able to focus on one project at a time, Carol. I will get to the pitching, but right now my novel is a priority. I promised my friend Martha, who’s read the first 20 chapters, to send her 21-30 by the end of this week.

      3. Oh no, Carol, I’m sorry you had to print those chapters. My friend Martha loaded the first 20 chapters directly to her Kindle. She said it was very simple; you just email it to a kindle email address that you create. Oh well. If you don’t feel like bothering, it’s okay because Martha’s been a friend of mine since 5th grade, and she’s reading it for me. She was bummed because she wanted to know what happened next! So I have two more chapters, 29 and 30, to finish up today, so I can send her the next 10 chapters. Thanks so much for your encouragement on the travel writing though. I hope to get this novel done in the next several weeks so I can move on to other projects. 🙂

  4. Such gorgeous photos!! How are you?? You look amazing in that black outfit with your handsome son! You look so slim! All those walks are paying off, you look happy and relaxed, I hope this is a sign you are making a go of things and are not homesick to take off again and go abroad. I am sure the prospect of having to teach is what keeps you at home!!! So wonderful to have your blog to read!

    1. Thanks so much for your compliment, Mona Lisa. Of course I’m still itching to go abroad, but trying to keep that desire in check as I finish up my projects. I bet I’ll be abroad again before the year is out. I’m certainly not having any luck on the job front here. And I’m not getting any younger! 🙂

Leave a Reply

