a sunday walk around lake audubon

Sunday, February 16:  Today, we take a 3 1/2 mile walk around Lake Audubon in Reston, Virginia.  Reston is a planned community that was founded in 1964 and is one of the nicer suburbs of Washington, D.C.  Lake Audubon is one of four artificial lakes in Reston.

Lake Audubon in Reston
Lake Audubon in Reston
No Skating
No Skating

Since the lake is small, only houseboats and canoes are allowed.  All around the shoreline, we see little party boats covered in snow and hemmed in by ice.

Canoes aren't much use now
Canoes aren’t much use now
houseboats
houseboats

I’m not sure of the prices of homes here, but I can imagine they’re expensive.

colorful canoes
colorful canoes
houseboat on Lake Audubon
houseboat on Lake Audubon

I enjoy walking in Reston as the community has 55 miles of paved pathways and natural surface trails through woods and around neighborhoods and lakes.

bridge across to the dam
bridge across to the dam
only a small part of Lake Audubon is not frozen
only a small part of Lake Audubon is not frozen
summer deck
summer deck
across Lake Audubon
across Lake Audubon
summer beckons
summer beckons

I’ve been walking a lot since I returned home from California, at least five days a week, despite it being one of the worst winters we’ve had since 2010.  In February 2010, right before I left for Korea, we had two huge blizzards which shut Dulles International Airport, causing my flight to be postponed.  Apparently the winters since I left have been very mild.  I get the feeling the bad weather is following me. 🙂

promises of blue sky at Lake Audubon
promises of blue sky at Lake Audubon
footbridge over part of Lake Audubon
footbridge over part of Lake Audubon
31 thoughts on “a sunday walk around lake audubon

    1. Yes, Annette, Reston really has a lot of great walking and running trails, paved and otherwise, around the 4 manmade lakes and through the woods. The W&OD bike trail also has a long stretch through Reston. It’s not that far from my house, so I’ll try to venture over there more for my walks, just for a change of scenery. I loved that “mackeral sky!” 🙂

  1. I love snow when it is this clean and crisp, together with a blue sky who wouldn’t want to walk in this. You are lucky though that your public spaces are cleared so quickly for walking. I suspect it is not the same over here.

    1. The Reston Association I think is very good about clearing their paved trails. We have a lot of unpaved trails in Oakton, but they’re certainly not cleared. I either have to walk on the road or venture elsewhere when we have this much snow. I can’t wait till it all melts, but then I’ll have to contend with mud. 🙂

  2. I have trouble getting motivated to walk if I have to drive somewhere to do it. Have to work on that. In the meantime I’ll just follow you around and walk vicariously.

    1. Yes, Carol, I usually prefer to walk out my front door and walk in the neighborhood rather than driving somewhere, but I have to say I am getting so bored with my neighborhood walk lately that I am getting in the car and driving elsewhere. Actually, this Lake Audubon walk is only a 10 minute drive from my house and there’s no traffic between here and there, so I may find myself venturing over there more often. I’ll be happy to have you along on my walks! 🙂

    1. Eileen, I used to live in Vienna too, off of Beulah Road. So you know Sunrise Valley Dr. and Reston. I really love Reston; you should see how nice Reston Town Center is now. Where did you work in Reston in 1984? I’m thinking I should focus my job search in Reston, just to avoid a long commute into D.C. 🙂

      1. I worked for an engineering firm. At that time it was called James Montgomery Engineering, but they merged a couple of times with other companies so I don’t know what they are known as today. There are a lot of wonderful companies in that area, and probably more so than before. Commuting the other direction is by far better than traveling with the herd.

      2. Well, I’m going to start focusing my job search in Reston, Eileen. I’ve been applying in Washington but my heart isn’t really in it anyway because of the commute. Reston is only 15 minutes from me, so that I could deal with. 🙂

    1. Yes, Kathy, I’m glad we figured out the pathway around the lake; it’s a little convoluted, but now that I know it, I can go back again and again. I’ll try to visit as the seasons change.

      As far as warmer weather, it starts today. For the rest of this week, it’s supposed to be in the 50s!!!

      Thanks and hugs to you in Ecuador! 🙂

  3. I bet it’s a lovely walk in Summer, Cathy 🙂 With a picnic to eat on the houseboat.
    Very picturesque in the snow, though. I’d heard the expression “mackerel sky” but had no idea what it meant. Now I do! Happy walking!

    1. Yes, Jo, now that I’ve figured out the paths around the lake, I’ll go back to walk through the seasons. I just wish I could hang out on one of those houseboats. It would be a lovely party, and you would be invited for sure! xxx

    1. I haven’t heard back yet, Jo. I’m not sure how it went, but I’m probably overqualified for this position, which gives many employers cause for worry. I’m just taking it one day at a time. 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Madhu. I wish it wasn’t so suburban here; I find I have to go quite off the beaten track to find nature. I would rather be either in a city or in the country, but I don’t care at all for the suburbs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

