a sunday stroll around annapolis harbor and downtown

Sunday, February 2: Today, I break out of the house to explore the waterfront town of Annapolis, Maryland, about an hour from my house.  I’m not going for any reason except to take a walk in an area I haven’t much explored and to get out of the house after several weeks of miserable weather.  It’s still not the sunniest of days, but at least it’s above freezing.

mural in downtown Annapolis
mural in downtown Annapolis

For some reason, I had the crazy idea I might take a boat ride in Annapolis Harbor, because I know you can do such a thing in the summer months.  I can see as soon as I reach the harbor that no boats will be going out today.  The harbor is frozen solid and the boats are hemmed in by ice.  It’s funny to see the seagulls standing around fluffing their feathers on top of the solid harbor.

boats encased by ice at Annapolis City Dock
boats encased by ice at Annapolis City Dock
boats in ice
boats in ice
bicycles on boats
bicycles on boats
seagulls walking on water
seagulls walking on water
Annapolis City Dock
Annapolis City Dock
Annapolis City Dock
Annapolis City Dock

I stroll up and down the streets of downtown and take pictures on Pinkney Street and Main Street; I also circle around the State Capitol.

house on Pinkney Street
house on Pinkney Street
colorful house on Pinkney Street
colorful house on Pinkney Street
Houses near Pinkney Street
Houses near Pinkney Street
Mural on the side of a brick house
Mural on the side of a brick house
Houses on Fleet Street
Houses on Fleet Street
Looking up Fleet Street
Looking up Fleet Street
Fudge shop on Main Street
Fudge shop on Main Street
view of the State Capitol
view of the State Capitol
the State Capitol
the State Capitol

I stop for lunch at Nano Asian Dining on Main Street.  It’s quite a cozy place with orange walls, colorful artwork and a friendly staff.  Here, I enjoy a Shrimp Tempura roll and some Shumai Dumplings, accompanied by a Kirin.  I chat a bit with the Chinese waitress, showing her how to use Instagram, and she promptly adds me as a friend on Facebook!

Nano Asian Dining
Nano Asian Dining
the sushi bar at Nano Asian Dining
the sushi bar at Nano Asian Dining
Indian in front of a tobacco store
Indian in front of The Annapolis Cigar Company

After lunch, I take a walk across the bridge for more pictures of the harbor.  It’s quite comfortable outside today, although the skies are a bit dreary.

Annapolis Harbor
Annapolis Harbor
Annapolis Harbor
Annapolis Harbor
more marinas in Spa Creek
more marinas in Spa Creek
Spa Creek
Spa Creek
view of St. Mary's Church
view of St. Mary’s Church

It sure feels good to get out of the house in the middle of winter here on the East Coast. 🙂  I think I’ll go back in the spring when I can take a boat ride and explore some of the historical sites.

Enhanced by Zemanta
31 thoughts on “a sunday stroll around annapolis harbor and downtown

    1. Yes, I’m looking forward to spring, Jo! I like the borders a lot but I don’t want to overuse them. I’m going to experiment next time, but I wonder if you put a larger number if the border gets thicker? 🙂

      1. I imagine so, hon. I’ve been going to but haven’t tried it yet. Am doing Preston Park follow up after a lovely morning walking in Durham, so I’ll give it a go 🙂

      2. Good, look forward to seeing the results. I need to get out for a walk in a few minutes, but it’s just in my neighborhood and nothing interesting. At least I’ll get some fresh air before I start my job applications for the day. 🙂 xxx

  1. Lovely, colourful photos,Cathy, except for the B&W one, which I suspect weren’t taken in black and white. 🙂 I love the Wisteria mural. I had to look twice to make sure it wasn’t real. Thanks for the tour.

    1. Haha, you’re funny, Sylvia. I was a little confused when you mentioned the B&W photos, not taken that way, and now I see exactly what you mean. It was definitely a B&W kind of day, except for the tidbits of color I found here and there. xxx

  2. Yeah, looks like it might have been a bit chilly for a boat ride, but still it DOES, indeed, help to get out and about during the winter. I love the photos in this post. Your images are always so stunning.

    Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, my friend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    1. Thanks so much, Kathy. It did feel good to get out and about, but it does get a little depressing with these constant gray skies! I did have a nice weekend, visiting my daughter and my father, but now I’m ready to get back to work. I dread Mondays the most because it’s my job application day. Hugs back to you. xxx

Leave a Reply

