coming out of our deep freeze

Friday, January 31:  Here in northern Virginia, we are finally emerging from our deep freeze of the last couple of weeks.  Between a couple of snowfalls and temperatures hovering around 8-10 degrees (F), we’ve had only a few days of respite.  I for one am happy to have a break and to get outdoors for my walks again.

Walking in Tamarack Park near the W&OD Bike Path
Walking in Tamarack Park near the W&OD Bike Path

I’ve never been a gym person, preferring to walk outdoors instead, but because of the icy roads, the several-inch-deep snowfalls and the frigid air, I’ve been going to the gym to walk on the treadmill and ride the seated elliptical, a machine I’ve never encountered before now.  My regular nearby gym, Oak Marr Rec Center, has been closed for renovation since I returned to the States, so I’ve had to drive to Falls Church to use Providence Rec Center, a half hour each way.

The partly frozen Difficult Run
The partly frozen Difficult Run

At least I am meeting my goals to walk at least five times a week, despite the long drive to the gym.  Today, I even take two walks, the second through the woods at Tamarack Park, near the W&OD Bike Path and along Difficult Run, which eventually makes its way to the Potomac River.

The deep freeze is finally thawing.
The deep freeze is finally thawing.

It may not be the most beautiful of walks, but I do enjoy the way the stream meanders through the muddy banks in the shadows of brown spindly trees.  Some parts of the stream remain frozen, but some of the water has burst free and rushes past the patches of ice.  Bailey gingerly walks out on the ice, or alternately, runs after sticks. I crunch along on brittle leaves under the shadows of the trees, enjoying fresh air for the first time in weeks.

Click on any of the images below for a full-sized slide show.

As far as my other New Year’s goals, here’s what I’ve done over the last two weeks, since I returned home from California.  I’ve applied for 6 jobs, but, as expected, it feels as if my cover letters and CVs go into some deep black hole, never to be acknowledged.  I’ve revised 7 chapters of my novel, but while reading it, I’ve decided yet another revision will be in order, mainly because my dialog needs work!  And as far as pitching to travel publications, so far I’m 0 for 0.  I have an idea and a publication in mind, but this publication requires a complete manuscript, which means I need to write the entire article rather than just pitching the idea.  A lot of work, but I hope it will pay off in some way.

Trying to keep focused, and to keep moving forward. 🙂  I hope your 2014 is bringing all the things you wished for. 🙂

41 thoughts on “coming out of our deep freeze

  1. You are keeping active, despite the weather…you are doing better than me 🙂 But headed South for a week and hoping for a lot of outdoor time!
    Good luck with your applications and manuscripts; something good has to come your way sometime….:-)

  2. how wonderful to be out walking, even if there is still snow and ice about! I am so impressed with your job hunting efforts .. I can’t even imagine having to do that now … keep it up and one will land 🙂

  3. Looks like careful walking for my old bones, but, yes, doesn’t it feel great to be outdoors, Cathy 🙂 You had a bit of blue sky too!
    Keep those spirits up, lass! I’ve never tried pitching articles but it seems to be the way to go. You only need to get a couple of acceptances then you have something to put in your portfolio. Big hug!

  4. You are doing far better than me! My excuse is that it has been raining pretty much all the time since Christmas! But really that is no excuse, there have been a few dry minutes when I could have walked in the mud.

  5. Good luck with the writing. I know you will eventually succeed! Interesting to know the magazines want full articles rather than pitches. Sorry to be so late getting here! I’ve been busy writing myself.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    1. Thanks, Kathy. This is only the Washington Post Travel Section that wants a full manuscript. They say it’s because they’re inundated with queries and manuscripts. It’s really a pain, but I’m going to write it up anyway. It will take me a lot of work for possibly no payoff, but at least it could eventually go into a book of travel essays??

      Good for you that you’ve been busy writing. Can’t wait to see the book that results from your hard efforts. Hugs to you! ~ Cathy

  6. man I wish we’d come out of our deep freeze! we’ve had several that I’ve lost count at this point. everyone here is weary from this awful winter we’ve had. I too love to walk outdoors and can’t remember the last time we got to do that. but at least March has finally arrived! hoping for spring warmth here in the frozen tundra. good for you for making to the gym!!

    1. Haha, Toby, we came out of our deep freeze, but then we went right back into another one. Our spring-like days only lasted for a brief time, sadly. I am really sick of this long winter!!! And I usually don’t mind winter. This one has been particularly nasty!

      1. I think there are a lot of people saying exactly that. I know I haven’t experienced a winter like this ever since I’ve been here (23 years). today’s high was a whopping ONE!! but I hear it will “warm up” into the 20s and 30s this week. which will feel balmy for us 🙂 hope it’s true!! stay warm!

      2. NO!!!!!!!! well, if it’s any consolation, we’re expecting snow too with our warm-up. heh, yea go ahead and add to the 3 plus feet of snow that is STILL there! agh!! spring is coming!! some day……

  7. Your pictures are wonderful and you do so much research, and include such a lot of interesting background “stuff” for each article that Travel mags are going to be bidding to publish your articles. 😀

    I love your new theme.

    1. Thanks so much, Rosie. I still haven’t really met any of my resolutions yet for travel writing. I really need to get busy on it! Glad you like my new theme. How is everything going with you and your dreams?

Leave a Reply

