a fond farewell to my little sister in los angeles

Sunday, January 12: After leaving Rosie’s house, I head to my sister’s house in Reseda, only about a half-hour drive.  I want to spend my last night with her, since we lost our first night together because of my missed flight connection in Denver on my way to L.A.  I had packed my schedule so tightly that I didn’t have nearly the time I wanted to spend with her.

P.F. Chang's China Bistro
P.F. Chang’s China Bistro
Stephanie & me at P.F. Chang's China Bistro
Stephanie & me at P.F. Chang’s China Bistro

We try to go back to our favorite sushi restaurant, but sadly we find it closed on this Sunday night.  Instead we go to P.F. Chang’s China Bistro, where we share a fabulous meal of appetizers along with some beers.

We have such a fun night together, as always.  Stephanie used to work as the art director for Shape magazine, and most recently Fit Pregnancy magazine, but she lost her job recently due to a downsizing. She’s excited about forging a new life for herself, outside of the corporate world.  She’s so talented, she won’t have any problem making her dreams come true.  Her enthusiasm is infectious, and I even start to believe I can live the creative life as well.  My talents are so limited compared to hers, but at this point in January, I have hope that I can publish my book, do some travel writing and travel photography, and carve out a life for myself that will make me happy.

We go back to her house to watch the second episode of Downton Abbey and then go to sleep so I can get an early start to the airport tomorrow.

Monday, January 13: This morning, I take off early for the airport, taking some pictures of Stephanie’s house and her old Studebaker before I leave.

Steph's colorful house
Steph’s colorful house
Studebaker
Studebaker
Stephn's house
Steph’s house

Here’s the lovely Bob Hope Airport.  Waiting.

Burbank Airport
Bob Hope Airport
My plane
My plane

First stop, San Francisco International Airport.

San Francisco International Airport
San Francisco International Airport

And looking out the window at a piece of the American landscape.

Flying home
Flying home

I posted this before, but here is my sister’s rendition of my trip to California.

Stephanie's journal
Stephanie’s journal

My sister’s illustrations can be found here: KONSUMERISM.RUN.AMOK: the most random of desires.

Little do I know that this will be my only trip during the year, from when I returned home on July 25 of 2013.  Sigh….

2 thoughts on “a fond farewell to my little sister in los angeles

  1. Well you’ll be seeing a few more airports in the near future – I just hope your luggage accompanies you! Or pack small and buy when you get there 🙂

    1. That’s for sure, Jude. But you know me – packing small, as you say, is always a challenge. We’ll see if the luggage makes it with me to Nanning. If not, I hear there are great tailors around in China, who can make anything cheaply. 🙂

Leave a Reply

