a sunday market in los angeles

Sunday, January 12: This morning, Rosie has a day planned for us in Malibu, but first we stop at a Sunday market.  If I weren’t flying home tomorrow morning, I would indulge in a buying extravaganza at this lively market.

Strange alien cauliflower
Strange alien cauliflower
rhubarb or red kale - who can tell me?
red chard
Sunday market in L.A.
Sunday market in L.A.
teas
teas
spices
spices
artichokes
artichokes
veggies galore
veggies galore
asparagus and beans
asparagus, snap peas and broccoli
bok choy
bok choy
VERY sweet strawberries
VERY sweet strawberries
orchids
orchids
reflections
reflections
more reflections
more reflections
L.A. neighborhood
L.A. neighborhood

After our stop at the market, we head to Corral Canyon for a hike.

19 thoughts on “a sunday market in los angeles

  1. Cathy, did you see the shocking news about Christine (Dadirridreaming) this morning?
    She died yesterday. It was like being punched in the stomach reading Stuart’s post this morning, God love him. I don’t use my reader much these days but was just checking on Viveka (whose apartment building’s had a fire in the basement!) when I saw it.
    Sorry hon, I can’t focus just now. I’ll come back at look at the other post later. Hugs, darlin. Take care of yourself.

    1. Oh my God, Jo, no I didn’t see that. Can you please send me the link? Oh no, I can’t believe it. What happened? I’ll probably have to read about it later, as I’m rushing off to work now, but please send me the link. Thanks, Jo. Hugs xxx

      1. I saw that, Jo. And it sounds like she had a perfectly normal and happy day before, taking photos for her blog on a lovely walk. That’s how I want to go, suddenly and unexpectedly, after a happy normal day. So sad though, to lose such a lovely lady.

      2. Thank you for letting us know Jo. I’m also a blogging friend of Christine’s – and although I’m not blogging anymore I pop into odd blogs every now and then. I recently had a nagging feeling that I should go see what she was up to. Sadly I didn’t go in time.

    1. I know we do have markets around here too, Jude, but I never seem to have time to visit them! Why is that? Thanks for the correction on the “rhubarb.” I can always count on you to set me straight. I was debating putting rhubarb or red kale!!

    1. Thanks, Kathy. I didn’t know Christine personally, just through her blog. When I was going through a rough time when I returned to the USA last summer, she sent me a guided meditation, so I’ll be able to listen to her soothing voice forever. It’s sad to lose a blogging friend; even if you don’t meet a person personally, you feel like you know a lot about them from their blog. Hugs to you xxx

  2. What a great market Cathy! I first encountered that alien cauliflower in Rome – I just stood there gobsmacked and enchanted. Of course I had to buy one and it tasted delicious. 🙂 ~Terri

    1. I still haven’t tasted that kind of cauliflower, Terri, but I would sure love to. I’ve never seen them in the markets around here. It was fun all around to spend some time in California. 🙂

Leave a Reply

