ventura, california & mission san buenaventura

Friday, January 10: After leaving Santa Barbara, I head south to Ventura so I can visit one more of the California missions, Mission San Buenaventura. The mission sits directly on Ventura’s main street, so it’s difficult to believe it was once surrounded by orchards, vineyards, and grain fields.

San Buenaventura Mission
San Buenaventura Mission

A reservoir and aqueduct system seven miles long supplied water to the buildings and fields, which extended from the foothills to the Pacific Ocean, making it a garden spot of the missions.

the Virgin Mary at San Buenaventura
Our Lady of Grace Shrine at San Buenaventura

A strong earthquake in 1812 caused a tsunami so large that the padres and Indian neophytes were forced to take shelter on higher ground, although the mission wasn’t destroyed.

Mary shrine
Our Lady of Grace Shrine

Six years later, the padres and their flock had to remove sacred objects from the church and flee into the hills to elude a pirate who was pillaging the Missions, but fortunately was headed off after a “bargaining session” at El Refugio in Santa Barbara.

Candles
Candles

Another earthquake in 1857 damaged the roof so badly that the red tiles were replaced with shingles.  The tile roof was restored during the 1920s.   The museum has two old wooden bells, the only ones of their type known in California.

Fountain at San Buenaventura
Fountain at San Buenaventura
Courtyard of San Buenaventura Mission
Courtyard of San Buenaventura Mission
Bell Tower
Bell Tower

Mission San Buenaventura had been planned as the third in the chain of twenty-one Missions founded by Fray Junipero Serra, but was destined to be the ninth and last founded during his lifetime, and one of six he personally dedicated.

Shrine to Jesus
Shrine to Jesus
Jesus shrine
Jesus shrine
Flower in the garden at San Buenaventura
Flower in the garden at San Buenaventura
Pretty greenery
Pretty greenery

Below is the church at the mission, from Figueroa Plaza.

San Buenaventura Mission
San Buenaventura Mission

Around Figueroa Plaza is some fun wall art.

Wall art in Ventura
Wall art in Ventura
Wall art in Ventura
Wall art in Ventura
Wall in Ventura
Wall in Ventura

I stand in the middle of East Main Street when no cars are coming to get a picture of the little town of Ventura.  It looks like a nice town to linger in, but I have a date to meet Rosie of Wandering Rosie tonight at her home in Los Angeles. She’s kindly invited me to stay for two nights.  Tomorrow we’ll attend a day-long inaugural Poets & Writers ((LIVE)) seminar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
East Main Street, Ventura, California
20 thoughts on “ventura, california & mission san buenaventura

  1. Ah, now I am regretting not stepping off that Highway! But I feel very musch as though I have been to this lovely mission, because you have the photos I’d take. It looks very tranquil.
    J xx

      1. Thanks Jude! But you’ve already been here, and you’ve seen parts that I haven’t yet seen!! As you know, we have a huge plot of real estate here in the U.S. 🙂

    1. That courtyard is really lovely, isn’t it rommel? Thanks for coming along even though you’ve already been there and live in Ventura ~ lucky you! I’ll hop over to visit your post. 🙂

  2. Yes, that shot of our lady is a very powerful one, Cathy. I love it. These missions are so tranquil and lovely, aren’t they? I wasn’t sure if this was one Jude had visited, but I see you’re one up on her 🙂 I almost forgot about Rosie. That’ll be next time 🙂
    Have a good week, love. Hugs!

    1. Unlike Jude, I’ve only seen two missions, Jo, so I would only have to guess at the others (or read over Jude’s posts again). This one was really lovely, especially that courtyard. I wanted to linger there forever. Yes, I have to write about my time with Rosie soon. It was soooo long ago!!

  3. Another gorgeous series of photos, Cathy. I think the fountain might be my favorite. It’s amazing these places survived after being damaged by so many earthquakes. Hope your week is going well. We just got back from the beach. I’m trying to sneak in a visit with you before my workshop gets going. Sorry to be so rushed.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    1. Thanks so much, Kathy. I loved that fountain too, the sound was so soothing in that shady courtyard. It is amazing that it survived after all those earthquakes! Oh, did I miss something about your workshop, or am I just being forgetful?? Hugs to you. xxx

Leave a Reply

