santa barbara botanic garden & stearns wharf

Friday, January 10:  After leaving the Old Mission Santa Barbara, I head to the 40-acre Santa Barbara Botanic Garden to explore California’s native flora: cacti, redwoods and wildflowers.  I take a walk through the arroyo section, which features plants from most ravines, stream sides and forests.  I see conifers, including a cross-section of a giant sequoia.  I also come across a Japanese “Shinkanan” teahouse and garden.

Cross-section of Giant Sequoia
Cross-section of Giant Sequoia
plant in the Arroyo section
plant in the Arroyo section
Japanese "Shinkanan" Teahouse and Garden
Japanese “Shinkanan” Teahouse and Garden

I walk through the manzanita section, where I find small shrubs and small trees mainly found in California chaparral, a shrubland found primarily in California and in the northern portion of the Baja California peninsula, Mexico.  The light is much too bright today, and the gardens too dry, to make for interesting pictures.

Manzanita Section
Manzanita Section

I then walk through the desert section, which features species that thrive in the state’s coastal or interior desert regions, such as California fan palm, the only palm tree native to the state.

Desert section
Desert section
Desert section
Desert section
Cacti
Cacti
Cacti
Cacti
palms in the desert section
palms in the desert section
cacti
cacti
cacti
cacti
succlulents in the desert section
succlulents in the desert section

Finally, I walk along the perimeter of the Meadow section which is representative of California grassland, featuring bunchgrasses such as deergrass.

Meadow section
Meadow section

Overall the garden is pretty dry as California’s been experiencing a drought this winter.  Usually winter is the wet season here.  This drought is the opposite extreme of what we’ve been experiencing on the east coast.  I don’t stay too long because I find it quite disappointing.

I then head to Stearns Wharf.  Built in 1872, it’s the West Coast’s oldest continually operating wooden pier.  It was once co-owned by actor Jimmy Cagney.  Here I wander around the pier and have a lunch of fish tacos with cilantro rice at Moby Dick Restaurant.

view from Stearns Wharf
view from Stearns Wharf
view from Stearns Wharf
view from Stearns Wharf
view from Stearns Wharf
view from Stearns Wharf
restaurant on Stearns Wharf
restaurant on Stearns Wharf
Restaurant on Stearns Wharf
Restaurant on Stearns Wharf
Seagull on Stearns Wharf
Seagull on Stearns Wharf
No fishing, Mr. Seagull!
No fishing, Mr. Seagull!
Moby Dick Restaurant
Moby Dick Restaurant
fish tacos with cilantro rice
fish tacos with cilantro rice

Next stop, San Buenaventura in Ventura. 🙂

14 thoughts on “santa barbara botanic garden & stearns wharf

  1. Once again, it’s been several years since I’ve been in Santa Barbara so it’s nice to get a more current view of it. I thought Stearns Wharf was wonderful – never did the botanical gardens, but I’m really not a desert person.

  2. You had to end with those delicious looking fish tacos, didn’t you? 🙂 🙂 It’s Mother’s Day here and after cooking Sunday lunch, I stuck some onion bahjis and samosas in for an easy tea. Couldn’t resist so I’m stuffed!
    Love those first two shots, Cathy 🙂 Some of your photos really sing. I know the light’s crucial.
    Jimmy Cagney, hey? I quite liked him (showing my age).
    It’s a pity about the borders. Did you see my reply about html in Edit?

    1. Of course, Jo, you know I have to end every day of travel with a good meal! Onion bahjis and samosas? I’m not sure what the first thing is, but it sounds exotic and delicious!

      I just saw your comment. I’ve been trying, and failing, to play catch up today. 🙂

      Thanks, Jo! xxx

  3. wonderful photos! I’m not a big fan of cactus but some are quite beautiful, especially when they bloom. LOVE that second one. it looks like a succulent. California does have interesting plants!

  4. I think those prickly pear and agave are very nice. And I love your photo of the seagull reading the no fishing sign 😀 Fish tacos looks good, but I’m not so sure about the green rice, though I do like coriander (cilantro).
    J xx

    1. Thanks, Jude. The cilantro rice and tacos were quite good; I think you would have liked them. I love that seagull photo too. I didn’t even remember taking it until I starting putting my photos together for the post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

