meeting rosie in los angeles & a walk to bob’s big boy

Friday, January 10:  After leaving Ventura, I head down the last bit of highway to Los Angeles, coming full circle on my journey.  I arrive in L.A. around 5:00, where I meet fellow blogger Rosie, of Wandering Rose fame.  I’ll be staying with her for the next two days and nights. We get acquainted and linger over a healthy & delicious dinner at her house with her husband. Later, we take Monty, who Rosie calls her “personal trainer,” out for a walk in her neighborhood.

Rosie mentions that Bob’s Big Boy of Burbank has a classic car show on Friday nights and that I might enjoy it.  So off we go to Bob’s, where we mingle with the classic cars and the car owners.

This Bob’s Big Boy was built in 1949 and is the oldest remaining Bob’s Big Boy in America. It was “designed by architect Wayne McAllister, incorporating the 1940s streamline modern style while anticipating the free-form 1950s coffee shop architecture.” The towering Bob’s sign is the building’s most prominent feature.

Bob's Big Boy
Bob’s Big Boy

The restaurant was honored in 1993, receiving the designation as a “State Point of Historical Interest” by the state of California. The current owner (the MacDonald family) acquired control of the restaurant in 1993 and began to restore it to its past glory.

classic car
classic car
classic cars at Bob's Big Boy
classic cars at Bob’s Big Boy
a classic drives by
a classic drives by
classic black car
classic black car

“Car Hop” service was re-introduced on Saturday and Sunday nights.  On Friday nights, the classic car show reverberates in the parking lot to the sound of classic rock.

Henry J Classic Car
Henry J Classic Car
Henry J
Henry J
Red classic car
Red classic car
love this car!
love this car!

After we walk back to Rosie’s house, I need to sleep.  I’m exhausted from my long day of travel and sightseeing.  Tomorrow we’re attending a Poets & Writers LIVE event, where we’re hoping to be filled to the brim with inspiration. 🙂

11 thoughts on “meeting rosie in los angeles & a walk to bob’s big boy

    1. I always think of you too, Rosie. I keep meaning to find time to call and catch up! I will soon, I promise. I hate to bother you on the weekend though because I know Reuben’s home then. Bob’s Big Boy was sure fun!

  1. Gosh, those cars are SO cool! And how fun that you got to meet Rosie. I think she’s awesome! I’ve met 7 bloggers in the past few years, even attended the wedding of one. Do you read Tori’s blog, the Ramblings? It was her wedding in Nashville. In fact, we have met some of the most amazing folks through the blogosphere!

    Hope you are well!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    1. Yes, it’s so great to meet fellow bloggers, Kathy, and Rosie was great. We had so much fun together. I don’t read Tori’s blog, but I’ll have to check it out. Nice that you went to a wedding! I met Marianne of East of Malaga and Jo of Restless Jo, Annette of Beauty Along the Road, Rosie of course, and Anne of Wildcard Travels (blogspot!). It really is amazing meeting the wonderful fellow bloggers. I sure hope to meet you one day too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

