the sausalito ferry: sausalito & iconic san francisco

Wednesday, January 8: Jayne and I take the Sausalito Ferry to Sausalito, a small town of pretty houses that spill down green hillsides into a downtown filled with boutiques and souvenir shops. When we leave Pier 41, the day is gray and dreary, and a little chilly, but by the time we come back, the sun is peeking out from behind wisps of clouds.

On the ferry over, we see iconic views to our left of the Golden Gate Bridge shrouded in clouds, with its spans poking above the clouds.

Golden Gate Bridge from the Sausalito Ferry
Golden Gate Bridge from the Sausalito Ferry
Golden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge

To our right, we see Alcatraz.

Alcatraz
Alcatraz
Alcatraz
Alcatraz

We approach the town of Sausalito, with its colorful houses perched on the hillsides.

approaching Sausalito
approaching Sausalito

We walk around the streets of Sausalito, enjoying the shop windows, the lovely houses, and the views of the bay.  Sadly, it’s a little cloudy and cool. We stop in a few shops.  In one, I buy a pair of black fringed boots.  I’m feeling like a hippie here in San Francisco. 🙂

After our wanders, we head back to the ferry, where we plow across the bay again.  This time, the sun is peeking out a little and we see Angel Island, the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, the San Francisco Bay Bridge and the iconic San Francisco skyline with the Transamerica pyramid and Coit Tower poking their heads out of wispy clouds.

Angel Island
Angel Island
Angel Island
Angel Island
Sailboats and Golden Gate Bridge
Sailboats and Golden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge
San Francisco skyline
San Francisco skyline
San Francisco
San Francisco
San Francisco skyline
San Francisco skyline
San Francisco
approaching San Francisco on the Sausalito Ferry
San Francisco Bay Bridge
San Francisco Bay Bridge

We stop by Pier 39 to watch the estimated 300-1,300 sea lions who spend winter through summer lounging and vying for spots on docks.  A lot of ruckus goes on as the bulls try to keep invaders from climbing on to their spots.  It’s quite amusing to watch.

Pier 39
Pier 39
Sea lions at Pier 39
Sea lions at Pier 39
sea lions at Pier 39
sea lions at Pier 39
sea lions at Pier 39
sea lions at Pier 39
Pier 39
Pier 39

Continuing along Pier 39, we find a carousel, a giant claw game, Lefty’s Left Hand Store, and waffle cone and pretzel stores.

carousel and giant claw game on Pier 39
carousel and giant claw game on Pier 39
carousel on Pier 39
carousel on Pier 39
Left's Left Hand Store
Left’s Left Hand Store
Dreyer's Waffle Cones
Dreyer’s Waffle Cones
pretzel stand
pretzel stand

Finally, as we approach to the Ferry Building, we dip into Peruvian restaurant La Mar, at Pier 1 1/2 on the Embarcadero.  I order a Cristal beer, Jayne a mixed drink, and we share an array of happy hour tapas.  I sure wish Jayne lived near me so we could do this kind of thing on a regular basis. Or better yet, I wish I lived in San Francisco. 🙂

La Mar
La Mar
La Mar
La Mar
Tapas at La Mar
Tapas at La Mar

Finally, we finish our walk back near the Ferry Building and the Embarcadero, were we hop back on the BART to return to Danville.

view from Pier 1
view from Pier 1
Pier and boats
Pier and boats
Embarcadero
Embarcadero

On Thursday morning, I’ll be heading back down the coast toward Los Angeles, making a few stops along the way.

 

23 thoughts on “the sausalito ferry: sausalito & iconic san francisco

    1. Since I have to deal with all the problems related to living in the suburbs of a big city, I think I might have to agree with you after all. I think I’m more of a big town/small city girl. I’m so tired of traffic and congestion in the suburbs of Washington. 🙂

    1. read my comment on Cathy’s previous post MrsC, I was having problems with photos on several blogs over the weekend.Still don’t know why it was only a selected few and not all.

  1. Love the moody looking shots of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cathy, especially those black and white ones. When I started to read the post I thought it was going to be an entry for Paula’s Black and White Sunday, but you fooled me! 🙂
    Sausalito looks a nice little place and those are great boots, you hippy chick!

    1. I was really excited to see the bridge shrouded in clouds with the spans poking above, Jo. I hadn’t ever seen it like that before, except in pictures, so it was wonderful to see it in its iconic state. And haha, you’ll be surprised to know these pictures were NOT taken in black and white. It was just a black and white kind of day, especially early on. I love those boots, too, but the heels are a little high for me. I can really only wear them for short walks! 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Kathy. I was really excited about seeing both the bridge and the skyline with the low lying clouds shrouding them. Wish there would have been a little more sunshine though! Hugs to you!

  2. I’m with Carol here, SF is lovely to visit, but I’m not sure I’d want to actually live there – you have to be very rich I think. Good to see all the sealions back – for a while their numbers went down.

    1. In San Francisco I was visiting my closest friend, Jayne; when I returned to LA, I went to meet Rosie of Wandering Rose and then back to my sister’s. I would love to move across country but I don’t want to be too far from my kids, who are all on the East Coast. 🙂

Leave a Reply

