the embarcadero & the ferry building in san francisco

Wednesday, January 8:  Today, Jayne and I take the BART into San Francisco, getting off at Embarcadero and heading straight for the Ferry Building.  Once a transport hub, the Ferry Building now boasts all things gourmet.  The grand hall and clock tower were built in 1898.

the clock tower of the Ferry Building
the clock tower of the Ferry Building
Cowgirl Creamery at the Ferry Building
Cowgirl Creamery at the Ferry Building
Cowgirl Creamery
Cowgirl Creamery
merchant in the Ferry Building
merchant in the Ferry Building

We wander around, enticed by all the displays, and have coffee and a little snack at a coffee shop.

market in the Ferry Building
market in the Ferry Building
fruits and vegetables, anyone?
fruits and vegetables, anyone?
merchant in the Ferry Building
merchant in the Ferry Building
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
merchandise in the Ferry Building

I love this shop that sells every variety of mushroom imaginable.

gourmet mushrooms
gourmet mushrooms
mushrooms
mushrooms
the Grand Hall
the Grand Hall

After wandering around the Ferry Building, we take a long walk past the piers along the waterfront, heading for the Blue & Gold Fleet’s Sausalito Ferry on Pier 41.

Boat along the walk between the Ferry Building and Pier 23
Boat along the walk between the Ferry Building and Pier 23
Pier 23
Pier 23
Pier 23 Cafe
Pier 23 Cafe
San Francisco's waterfront
San Francisco’s waterfront
Jayne at one of San Francisco's piers
Jayne at one of San Francisco’s piers
San Francisco waterfront
San Francisco waterfront
Blue & Gold Fleet
Blue & Gold Fleet
Blue & Gold Fleet with Coit Tower & the Transamerica Pyramid in the background
San Francisco Bay Ferry with Coit Tower & the Transamerica Pyramid in the background

Under gray skies, we take the Sausalito Ferry to the lovely town of Sausalito.

Enhanced by Zemanta
26 thoughts on “the embarcadero & the ferry building in san francisco

  1. sigh… don’t know what is wrong with WP at the moment, but there are several blogs where I can’t see the photos, and sadly yours is one of them. I shall have to remember to come back for a wander around the embarcadero with you Cathy. It’s one of my favourite bits of SF – love the market 🙂

    1. Well I seem to have sorted it, though probably have caused other problems. I found when I clicked on a photo I got a message about the site having too many redirects (whatever that means). Anyway the short tale is that I deleted all my cookies! (See what I mean about causing other problems) but it does appear to have worked as I can now see your photos and other blogs I had trouble with. I don’t really understand why I had to do that as I could see photos on lots of blogs, so I don’t really understand where the trouble lay! Still this may help anyone else who has similar issues.

      1. Strange, Jude. I don’t know why we get these problems from time to time. Glad you figured out the issue. Strange about the “site having too many redirects.” Did that message go away once you deleted cookies?

  2. Get me on that boat quick! Any one of them will do, Cathy 🙂
    Unlike Jude, I can see your lovely photos fine, and am astounded at how many healthy food shots you have. You’re definitely a reformed character, hon 🙂

    1. I’m always enticed by boats too, Jo, as you know! We could take off on one together for a fun time. 🙂

      I’m trying hard to eat healthy Jo, but believe me, it’s hard sometimes! I wouldn’t say I’m totally reformed, just on a mission to fit into my clothes comfortably!! xxx

    1. Thanks, Lynne. I’m always a fan of boats in general, and there are lots to see along the California coast. The Ferry Building is really upscale and, from what I understand, a lot nicer than it used to be. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Kathryn. I went on this trip in January and I’m just now posting about it. Sadly I’m here in Virginia now, where we’re still under snow, although I think we’ll be emerging soon, as it melts away slowly. 🙂

    1. You should visit SF someday for sure, Madhu. I am still using my Olympus Pen, though it’s starting to show its age, and its high level of usage. By the way, I just went to the theater Friday night to see the new Hindi film, Gunday. It was quite a film!! Haha, very melodramatic and a kind of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid remake (Indian style). It was good fun, but awfully long, as so many Bollywood films are. Did you know one of the songs in the movie was filmed in Oman? Do you enjoy Bollywood?

Leave a Reply

