exploring the venice walk-streets

Saturday, January 4:  Beyond the beach, Venice has neighborhoods tailor-made for pedestrians, referred to by the locals as the “walk-streets.” Stephanie and I wander through the narrow passageways that slice between bungalows, cottages, and gardens.  We love snapping photos of adorable homes behind arbors draped in heart-shaped tropical leaves, with their secret patios and lazy cats.  The Venice walk-streets offer up coral, yellow, and hibiscus-covered houses, birds of paradise, pink doors & papyrus, profuse container & community gardens, artsy house numbers and mailboxes, and whimsical female faces on picket fences.

Click on any of the images below to come along on a stroll through the Venice walk-streets.

42 thoughts on “exploring the venice walk-streets

  1. that yellow house looks like the same one we kept passing to and from our hotel in Venice. it was for sale when we were there in 10/12. I wonder if anyone bought it. but yes, Venice is filled with interesting and colorful things! lovely photos.

      1. yes indeed it is! I believe that house, the back of it, faced Pacific Avenue which is probably the main road of which you speak. that house stands out anyway for all of its yellowness. I can’t recall how much it was selling for but I do remember looking it up on the internet and the inside is just gorgeous!!

  2. No, not there unfortunately – more like 4? but green. on 28th if memory serves. These pics are discombobulating me a touch as I now want to BE there. My last post from LA included Venice and our ‘pay it forward’ from Tommy Coster who fed our meter when we were unable.

  3. Oh, I LOVE your blog! How cool. And the name is PERFECT! Looking forward to following you and seeing where you end up! I see my friend Rosie commented above, as well. Great images, as well.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    1. Thanks so much, Kathy. Yes, Rosie is a friend of mine and I actually stayed two nights with her when I went to California. We went together to a Poets and Writers Live event and had a great time. We also went to Malibu Seafood after a lovely hike overlooking the ocean. 🙂

  4. Great photos! Venice is my favorite places to photograph here in LA. I am fortunate to live just 15 minutes away. And, yes, Venice has become the most expensive place to live on the Westside. Rentals are higher than in Beverly Hills…

  5. What a beautiful fun filled place….you had me scratching my head though…..I was trying to think of where there was a beach in Venice. Took me a few moments and a few more lines of your post to realise that this was not the ancient city of Venice in Italy, but a beach town in America!!

Leave a Reply

