weekly photo challenge: joy {christmas day}

Wednesday, December 25:  Having been away from home for the last three Christmases, it was pure joy to be home this year to celebrate with my family.  We woke up at a leisurely pace, we had coffee, we sat beside the tree listening to Christmas carols and waited for the boys to wake up.  When they did, we opened gifts.  It was a simple Christmas, much more so than in the past, and I liked it that way.

Christmas morning in our house
Christmas morning in our house

I got new pajamas, a workout shirt, some snow boots and a bunch of books, mainly by my new favorite writer, Ann Patchett.  Mike got biking gear and clothes, Alex got a new computer, and Adam got some books and his upcoming trip to Australia (which is costing us a fortune).

Alex & Adam
Alex & Adam

After taking a long hot bath, I began preparations for the traditional Christmas brunch that I made for 20 years before I went away to Korea and Oman.  We don’t make a Christmas dinner because there is no room to eat anything after this brunch.  I know we should think of changing the menu sometime as it’s not at all heart friendly.  The problem is that we all like it so much.  I made a big Southern Grits casserole.  Lots of butter, a pound of cheese, four eggs: these are all involved.  Next I made a Breakfast Frittata that includes red pepper, a dozen eggs, milk, scallions, tarragon, goat cheese and red potatoes.  As always, on Christmas Eve, I assembled Chicken and Apple Sausage Patties, made from ground chicken, Granny Smith apples, onion and fresh sage.  Mike sauteed them this morning while I made the Cranberry Maple Compote to go on the pancakes he also made.  All of this was accompanied by mimosas and a fruit salad featuring star fruit made by my sister-in-law, Barbara.  My mother-in-law also joined us, as always.

After eating this huge feast, all we really felt like doing was napping.  Everyone spread out all around the house, finding a quiet and comfortable place, and caught a peaceful bit of slumber.

Finally, after everyone woke up, we played a game of Bananagrams (I lost), then Oodles (I lost), and then Scattergories (I also lost!).  I never win these kinds of games, but it’s fun to try!

It wasn’t a terribly exciting Christmas.  There were no big crowds, and there wasn’t a lot of rambunctious behavior, but it was enjoyable just the same.  Truly, it was a joy to be back home for the holidays.

This post is in response to the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge of JOY.

46 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: joy {christmas day}

      1. Thanks, I need to hear that right now, because honestly, being back at home, I don’t feel like such an adventurer any more. That being said, I will try to make the best of what I have around me in the coming year! More on that to follow…. Thanks so much for your kind words, Kathryn! 🙂

  1. Love everything about this post … not a big of X-mas trees – but yours are fantastic, it’s the real thing. Love the food – I can eat brunch anytime of the day. *smile – Happy New Year.

  2. fantastic!! I prefer quiet holidays myself. your tree is gorgeous and suits the room that it’s in. Sounds like your home situation has improved to your liking yes? You sound happy and I can certainly understand the joy you felt at being home for Christmas this year. Holidays abroad are difficult. oh yes and the food photos………wow!! I am drooling over here too. thanks for sharing!

    1. Thanks so much, Toby. My home situation is feeling more and more comfortable, but the situation with our marriage is still not resolved. I don’t know how long that will take; I’m hoping we will have some resolution by the summer. I’m glad my brunch appealed to you. Believe me, it’s quite decadent!! Happy New Year!

    1. Thanks so much! I’m glad you like it! The Christmas brunch was yummy, but sadly I’ve put on a few more pounds that I now must work off! Too bad the tasty things in life can be so unhealthy! Thanks so much for visiting and commenting. 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Carol. We’re just finalizing his plane ticket today and we just paid the balance owing on his internship the other night. You’re so kind to offer him a contact in case he needs it. He probably won’t, but I guess you never know. I’ll email both of you, so you’ll have each other’s email addresses. Thanks so much! Happy new year tonight… oh yes, you’ve already had it! Our is still 7 1/2 hours away. It will be a quiet one for me, so quiet in fact, I may be asleep. 🙂

      1. You’re probably right, he won’t need us, but just in case, it’s good for you to know he has a contact. Young people are very independent these days. I sound like an old codger!

        Yes our New Year’s Eve has come and gone, it’s 7.30 am, January 1st here. We had a barbecue with friends last night but we did not stay up late.

      2. Last Sunday it was 37 degrees which is about 102 for you, but since then it has been cooler, only about 30, 92 for you. Much more pleasant. Our last three Summers have been very rainy and cool so we are all enjoying a nice hot Summer for a change.

      3. Well, at least I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I’m a cool weather girl, so am always happy when it’s below 70! Hope you’re enjoying your New Year’s Day. I just got up! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Joy « blogagaini

Leave a Reply

