baltimore’s inner harbor {by night}

Thursday, December 19:  After I finish visiting the National Aquarium, I walk back around Baltimore’s Inner Harbor in the dark.  I love how the harbor looks at night, with the reflections in the water and the buildings and street lamps all aglow.

Barnes & Noble and Hard Rock Cafe
Barnes & Noble and Hard Rock Cafe

Strangely enough, there don’t seem to be many Christmas decorations here, despite it being only a week before Christmas.

some of the only Christmas lights I find
some of the only Christmas lights I find
Inner Harbor by night
Inner Harbor by night
shopping arcades at the Inner Harbor
shopping arcades at the Inner Harbor
Shopping around the Inner Harbor
Shopping around the Inner Harbor
Ripley's Believe It or Not
Ripley’s Believe It or Not
nighttime reflections at the Inner Harbor
nighttime reflections at the Inner Harbor

I stop in at the Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. for an appetizer of Cajun shrimp and a Blue Moon. The Cajun shrimp and the dipping bread are delicious!!  As is the Blue Moon.  I seem to have the restaurant all to myself tonight.

inside the bar at the Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
inside the bar at the Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

The waitress tells me that when I want her to come by my table, to flip the sign on the table that says “Stop Forrest Stop.”  When all is well, I should flip to “Run Forrest Run.”

The waitress says in order for me to become a true Bubba Gump patron, I must pass a quiz.  It’s so pathetic how bad my memory can be sometimes.

She asks first: “Who plays Forrest Gump in the movie?”  Of course I know who it is, but for some reason, his name has slipped out of my slippery mind.  She says, his initials are T.H.  I say, “Snap!  Of course, Tom Hanks!”

The Bubba Gump Shrimp Co
The Bubba Gump Shrimp Co

Second question: “Who is Forrest’s girlfriend in the movie?”  Blank mind again!  She says, “Rhymes with Penny.”  Oh… Jenny!

Third: “Who are Forrest’s two best friends?”  Duh.  I can’t seem to remember anything about this movie.  I guess it has been too many years since I’ve seen it.  She has to tell me: “Captain Dan and… Bubba!”  Well, of course.  Here I am in the Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, after all.

Love it!
Love it!

Finally: “Which war is being fought in the movie?”  Finally, one question I get: the Vietnam War.

I don’t think I passed the quiz, so I’m doomed to be excluded as a patron from the Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. 😦

reflections
reflections

When I walk back to my car in the parking garage, I take one parting shot of downtown Baltimore, and I quite like how it turns out.

parting shots
parting shots

I’ve been parked for about 7 hours, and the parking fee?  $20!  I’m telling you, things have really gotten expensive in the USA in my absence. 😦

Enhanced by Zemanta
12 thoughts on “baltimore’s inner harbor {by night}

  1. Love the night reflections, who needs Christmas decorations? The Forest Gump quiz made me laugh – I saw one of these in Pier 39, San Fran but didn’t go inside. Now I wish I had 🙂

    1. Thanks, Jude. I loved the night reflections there too. I thought the Inner Harbor was, overall, quite lovely. That was the first time I’d been in the Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. and although it was quite deserted, it was the perfect ending to my little day of exploring. 🙂

  2. Beautiful Cathy! It’s been ages since I was back in Baltimore and you’ve done a great job of reminding me of what I’m missing – especially at the holidays. Thanks. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a New Year filled with happiness. All the best, Terri

    1. You ought to see it sometime, Jo. It covers the whole spectrum of American history during the Vietnam War, in a funny way! Merry Christmas! Heading out tonight for Christmas Eve with my mother-in-law and sister-in-law. 🙂

Leave a Reply

