baltimore’s inner harbor {by day}

Thursday, December 19:  Baltimore’s Inner Harbor is a historic seaport, tourist attraction and landmark.  It was described by the Urban Land Institute in 2009 as “the model for post-industrial waterfront redevelopment around the world (Wikipedia: Inner Harbor).”

There are numerous attractions at the Inner Harbor, including the Maryland Science Center, water cruises, the National Aquarium, restaurants galore and the observation deck on the 27th floor of the World Trade Center of Baltimore.  Since I came today for the Christmas Market, I enjoy just walking around taking pictures of the picturesque harbor, stopping at the National Aquarium and having a light dinner at the Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

the Baltimore Visitor's Center
the Baltimore Visitor’s Center
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
high rises around the Inner Harbor
high rises around the Inner Harbor
the Chesapeake and Barnes & Noble
the Chesapeake and Barnes & Noble
The Constellation
The Constellation
view of Ripley's Believe It or Not through the rigging of the Constellation
view of Ripley’s Believe It or Not through the rigging of the Constellation
Shopping arcades in the Inner Harbor
Shopping arcades in the Inner Harbor
more reflections
more reflections ~ the World Trade Center of Baltimore & the National Aquarium
marina and businesses
marina and businesses
downtown
downtown
cruise boats
cruise boat
reflections of the Inner Harbor
reflections of the Inner Harbor
reflections
reflections
the moored Constellation
the moored Constellation
the Constellation and the Baltimore World Trade Center
the Constellation and the World Trade Center of Baltimore
Constellation and Baltimore World Trade Center
Constellation and World Trade Center of Baltimore
Chesapeake
Chesapeake
submarine
submarine in front of the National Aquarium

I find the Inner Harbor so picturesque, I think I’m going to spend more time exploring what Baltimore has to offer.

When I come out of the National Aquarium, it’s dark.  The after dark version will follow in another post. 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 thoughts on “baltimore’s inner harbor {by day}

  1. We had a trip to Baltimore & the Maryland countryside planned a few years ago but something came up and it never happened. I know it’s a very interesting place – and I bet dinner was great!

    1. It’s funny, Gilly, I’ve always thought of Baltimore as a hardscrabble city, the poor younger sister of Washington. I think there are many poor neighborhoods there, but at least the Inner Harbor does look pretty upscale. Sadly, I haven’t explored enough of Baltimore to know much about it.

      Thanks so much!

  2. How did I miss this one, Cathy? The hip and trendy side of Baltimore. Quite a contrast but I rather like the ‘gritty’ reality 🙂
    Forgot to say, on the other post, many thanks for joining in on my walks, and for the nice mention and link 🙂 Did you see the mess I got in with Amy’s post, trying to disable the comments? The night just spun away from me, but I’ll know better next time. (or I’ll avoid the ‘reblog’).
    Big hugs, hon! Keep that chin up and put all that energy to good use.
    Much love 🙂 Your barmy friend.

    1. Yes, Jo, there is quite a difference between the hip and trendy and the gritty side of Baltimore. The gritty side is certainly more photogenic. I’m glad to join in your walks; I love walking almost as much as you do! On Saturday, I’m doing a 10k walk in Richmond with Sarah (she’s running), and I hear it’s supposed to be pouring rain. 😦

      I wouldn’t know the first thing about disabling comments on reblogs! Too much technology overload, that’s for sure!! At least you’re trying. 🙂

      Jo, you crack me up. You know I always have to look up your British words. It’s amazing to me sometimes that Brits and Americans speak the same language. I found that “barmy” is another word for “balmy” – mad, crazy. Love it! Hugs to you, you barmy girl. xxx

Leave a Reply

