a glass-covered (& treacherous) world

Monday, December 9:  What started as a smattering of snow on Sunday morning turned to freezing rain by late afternoon. This hodge-podge of liquids crystallized surreptitiously overnight. This morning brought a wonderland of glassy trees, creaking and groaning under the weight of all that ice.

While I was taking a long hot bath in my house, I heard a crash outside the window. When I went outside, I saw two large branches had broken off one of our two large pine trees.

crash!
crash!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
ice bushes

In my front garden, I found ice-encrusted trees, bushes and berries, offered up like an exhibit of Dale Chihuly glass sculptures.

glass sculptures
glass sculptures
ice bushes
ice bushes
ice art
ice art
colored ice
colored ice
ice chandeliers
ice chandeliers
beautiful ice
beautiful ice
ice bushes
ice bushes
an icy tree
an icy tree
tree chandeliers
tree chandeliers
ice berries
ice berries
ice berries
ice berries
ice berries
ice berries
icicle heaven
icicle heaven

After warming up my car and scraping off the crusty layer of snow on the windshield, I drove to the college for my 11:00 class.  I found the traffic on Little River Turnpike was stopped, but I didn’t know why.  The traffic was moving at a crawl, so I figured whatever happened, at least people were moving through.  When I got closer, I saw a tree had fallen across both lanes of the road.  The only reason cars were moving was because they were doing U-turns or pulling off on side streets.  By this time it was 10:55.  I followed everyone else doing U-turns and went an alternate, and very roundabout, way to work.  Almost to the college, on Hummer Road, I came upon a police blockade.  The officer told me a car had driven into a sinkhole!  He gave me another alternate route, and I finally arrived at class 15 minutes late.  Only a smattering of students were in attendance, but they all came dribbling in over the next 15 minutes.

Northern Virginia Community College - Annandale Campus
Northern Virginia Community College – Annandale Campus
Northern Virginia Community College - Annandale Campus
Northern Virginia Community College – Annandale Campus
Northern Virginia Community College - Annandale Campus
Northern Virginia Community College – Annandale Campus
Northern Virginia Community College - Annandale Campus
Northern Virginia Community College – Annandale Campus
Northern Virginia Community College - Annandale Campus
Northern Virginia Community College – Annandale Campus
Northern Virginia Community College - Annandale Campus
Northern Virginia Community College – Annandale Campus

Snow is forecast again for tomorrow morning.  Although I have a ton of things I need to get done with my students on this last week of class, I still hope they close the school if we’re going to have to contend with the same challenging, and treacherous, driving conditions!

Oh, how I love the change of seasons in Virginia! 🙂

33 thoughts on “a glass-covered (& treacherous) world

  1. If it were not for the damage that comes with these weather conditions, the beauty could be overwhelming. I do dislike spending much time out in that kind of cold, however.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    1. You’re so right, Carol. I imagine there will be more damage today as now it’s snowing on top of the ice. School is closed for me, thank goodness, so I don’t have to venture out by car. I will, however, have to take a walk through the woods. I sure wish I had thought to buy some decent snow boots. We usually don’t have snow this early in December, so I’m woefully unprepared. 🙂 Stay warm and enjoy your holiday preparations. 🙂

    1. Haha, coming from the far reaches of the north, Lori, I can understand your sentiment. We don’t get that much ice or snow here in Virginia, so it’s a treat when we do get it. Plus, I really love the change of seasons after having been in Oman for two years. How are you liking Nizwa?

  2. What an incredible world to wake up to, your photos of the dripping ice are stunningly beautiful. The ice looks so smooth as though it had just been frozen in place a moment before. A great art exhibition by nature herself 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, greenmackenzie. It was truly beautiful, though treacherous with the trees falling down under the weight of the ice! I love what nature can do! Thanks so much for visiting and commenting. 🙂

  3. Love the ice sculptures! I think I have only ever seen one ice-storm in the UK and that was many, many years ago. Lovely to look at, lousy to venture out in. Still pretty mild here though.

    1. We don’t have many ice storms in Virginia, but when we do they are lovely, although treacherous with all the trees and branches falling down under the weight of the ice. Walking or driving on ice isn’t pleasant either. 🙂

  4. Wow! I know how destructive and treacherous ice can be, but you captured some beautiful ice art. We’re waiting on ice and snow here. Should be arriving soon.

  5. I hope you didn’t rush out in your jim-jamas to take those ice sculpture shots, Cathy! It looks so c-c-c-cold! 🙂
    Absolutely stunning captures, hon. I love them! (just glad you took them, not me 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

