weekly photo challenge: unexpected

Tuesday, November 26:  The WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is Unexpected. Says Cheri Lucas: The world is an interesting place: we stumble upon unexpected things each day, like signs that are unintentionally amusing, bizarre sculptures, or even strange evidence of a miniature world on the side of a building.

So, your photo challenge this week is to capture something unexpected. You can also interpret the theme in other ways: a street scene or landscape that just doesn’t look quite right, an impromptu portrait of a loved one, or any other image that reveals a sense of surprise.

In my travels over the last three years, I’ve run across too many unexpected things to count, but I thought I’d show some of the surprising people I encountered along my journey.

I found this white-haired monk at Donghae Yonggung-Sa, a temple in Busan, South Korea.  I thought it was funny that we both had the same color of hair (an april jaunt to busan), especially in Korea, land of the black-haired people. 🙂

a white haired monk at  Donghae Yonggung-Sa in Busan, South Korea
a white-haired monk at Donghae Yonggung-Sa in Busan, South Korea

I unexpectedly met this famous Nepali actor shooting a movie scene in Pokhara, Nepal (pokhaha: a stroll around phewa tal & seeking shelter (& warmth) at moondance).  He says he plays a fighter in the movie, Kale, that should be released in January 2014. His name is Sagar Ansari and he has been in other movies, including Kalapani, which he tells me I can buy in a DVD shop.  He asks me if I think he’s handsome and I just laugh, thinking to myself that this is one scary-looking guy. 🙂

Nepali actor Sagar Ansari
Nepali actor Sagar Ansari

I also had an unexpected encounter at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Muscat, Oman with Joanna Lumley, who plays Patsy Stone on Absolutely Fabulous (absolutely fabulous: a surprise encounter with patsy stone 🙂).

Neziha, Joanna Lumley and me in Muscat, Oman
Neziha, Joanna Lumley and me in Muscat, Oman

And finally, one day when I was walking through Nizwa Souq, not far from my house in Oman, I came upon this unexpected group of old Omani men and their guns.

Omani men and their guns at Nizwa souq
Omani men and their guns at Nizwa souq

And I bet this vendor at Nizwa souq didn’t expect me to catch him napping on the job.

a sleeping Omani vendor at Nizwa souq
a sleeping Omani vendor at Nizwa souq

I certainly never expected to encounter this group of fishermen on the beach at Al Musaanah in Oman.

sardine fishermen at Al Musaanah Beach in Oman
sardine fishermen at Al Musaanah Beach in Oman
Fisherman at Al Musaanah
Fisherman at Al Musaanah

“If you do not expect the unexpected you will not find it, for it is not to be reached by search or trail.”   ~ Heraclitus

Enhanced by Zemanta
23 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: unexpected

    1. Thanks, Annette; yes it was truly an amazing journey, full of surprises, that I was able to be on the last three years. I’m sad it’s come to an end, but I hope for different kinds of adventures in the future. That actor was very scary looking, but he was quite lively and funny. 🙂

      1. Cathy – I was trying to post a comment on your most recent Thanksgiving post but it wouldn’t let me….
        this was the comment: So glad you had a good Thanksgiving reunion with family… and I am impressed with all the writing you have done recently. How was that Travel writer’s course?

      2. Thanks so much for your sweet comment, Annette. I don’t know why the Thanksgiving post wouldn’t let you comment. Sorry about that. Luckily I managed to squeeze in some writing, but that travel course was quite time consuming, and it still is, as I have my last assignment due today. There’s nothing like procrastination! I have really learned a lot, and especially about how much work it is!

        It was really nice to be with family again on Thanksgiving. It’s been too long. I hope you had a wonderful holiday. 🙂

  1. Thanks, Cathy, for reminding me I need to colour my hair tonight 🙂
    Ooooh, I never knew you’d met Joanna Lumley! I want to be her. I’m off to read that right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

