starting where i am on an autumn evening

Monday, October 14:  This evening we take a walk through one of the many trails in our neighborhood.

After my weekend away in Monterey, VA, where I’ve had some time to think and talk with Annette of The Beauty Along the Road, who has been a therapist and had training in life-coaching, I think I need to start where I am, here and now, and begin to make some changes in my life.

heart <3
heart ❤

“If someone comes along and shoots an arrow into your heart, it’s fruitless to stand there and yell at the person. It would be much better to turn your attention to the fact that there’s an arrow in your heart…”
Pema Chödrön, Start Where You Are: A Guide to Compassionate Living

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
one of many trails in my neighborhood

Besides the peace of mind I’m now starting to feel as I think about possible change in my life, I’m rewarded by a plethora of ferns, mosses, pretty leaves, and fungi.  Here’s a sample of the little gifts I find along the way.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
leaves promising change
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
scales of fungi
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
fungi
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
more fungi
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
the stream bed
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
ferns, moss and bark
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
a sprinkle of wildflowers
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
holly & fungi
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
half-funnels of fungi
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
moss, fern and bark
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
tree knot
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
orange mushrooms
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
mushrooms
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
more orange mushrooms
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
tinges of red on the leaves
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
orange fungi
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
fan-shaped orange fungi
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
beautiful nature
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
layers of fungi
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Alex
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
mist-colored trail
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Alex

“The gift of willingness is the only thing that stands between the quiet desperation of a disingenuous life and the actualization of unexpressed potential.”
Jim McDonald, Who Would I Be Without: Based on a True Story of a Little Willingness

20 thoughts on “starting where i am on an autumn evening

  1. wow! your fungi are fabulous … they are inspiring the way most of their growth is hidden, then the fruiting body appears so dramatically … such beauty and brilliance in the softness of the wood 🙂

      1. Good question. 🙂 Sometimes people wait for something to happen to start (“I’ll do such-and-such after I ____”), and seems to me that’s waiting to start in the future rather than starting where one’s at. I used to do that with losing weight (“I’ll get a bike after I lose weight,” and other things of that nature).

      2. You’re so right about that, Robin. I’ve been the queen of procrastination in the past. I’m trying to just get right on projects where I can at this moment. We’ll see how that works!

Leave a Reply

