leaving monterey

Monday, October 14:  This morning, I have coffee and some Apple Scrapple from Great Harvest Bread that I brought as a gift for Annette and Dan.  I guess it’s pretty bad when you bring a gift for someone and then you end up eating a lot of it!  I enjoy our chat.  I’ve learned a lot about their lives and their farm, the Allegheny Mountain School that I’ll recommend to my son Adam, their own Permaculture certifications and yoga training, and the lifestyle they’ve chosen.

Welcome to Monterey, and farewell!
Welcome to Monterey, and farewell!

After breakfast, I take off to drive back to northern Virginia, leaving the pretty fog-sprinkled Allegheny Mountains behind, and crossing over the Shenandoah Mountains.

Outside of Monterey, VA
Outside of Monterey, VA
barn with silo near Monterey
barn with silo near Monterey
leaving Monterey
leaving Monterey
a creek in the mountains
a creek in the mountains
a creek in the Allegheny Mountains
a creek in the Allegheny Mountains
barn in the valley
barn in the valley
in the Shenandoah Mountains
in the Shenandoah Mountains
interesting ground and tree cover in the Shenandoah Mountains
interesting ground and tree cover in the Shenandoah Mountains
foggy Shenandoah
foggy Shenandoah

I arrive home with one day left of my four-day weekend, and I spend the next day working for over 3 hours, entering Midterm marks for my students.  This job is eating me alive!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
10 thoughts on “leaving monterey

    1. Thanks, Jo. Yes, It was peaceful and it is too bad I’m back to the grind. Just made a birthday plan last night. Mike, Alex and I are going to Staunton and to Douthat State Park to do some hiking. The fall colors hopefully will be at peak!

      1. Sounds wonderful! Have a lovely time. I’ll be thinking of you 🙂
        What will you do for birthday cake in the middle of a State Park? I bet you know some nice bistro or ranch or something!

      2. Haha, the only kind of birthday cake I’d likely find in a state park is a fungi one! Don’t worry; Staunton supposedly has a cute downtown area with little restaurants. You know me, Jo, I wouldn’t skip food in my birthday celebration! 🙂

        And thanks so much for the adorable birthday card you sent. You are the best! You really made my day. 🙂

  1. I have enjoyed my trip to Monterey (though confess as first I thought we were going to California). Beautiful photos as usual, and Shenandoah takes me back to my grammar school where I first sang the song ‘Oh Shenandoah’. Too many years ago!

    1. Well, Jude, you may get your Monterey, California trip after the new year; I’ve already bought a ticket to go to California from January 2-13. Maybe I can do a Monterey visit while there! Glad my Shenandoah post brought back memories. I’m going to the mountains again this weekend for my birthday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

