the dodge power wagon brigade in monterey

Sunday, October 13:  While driving the circuitous roads of Highland County, following the maps Annette drew for me this morning, I come to a four-way-stop. Entering the intersection from the road to my right is a lineup of old Dodge Power Wagons heading into Monterey.  As I turn left toward Bluegrass, I can see in my rearview mirror the trucks are turning right toward Monterey.  In the fog out in the midst of the countryside, the scene looks like one straight out of 1950s movie.  I’m thinking Bonnie and Clyde and Grapes of Wrath, however, my thoughts are misguided as those movies took place in the 1930s. 🙂

I debate whether I should turn around and follow them, but I figure they are heading to Monterey for the Hands & Harvest Fall Foliage Festival.  I will see them after I do my loop through Bluegrass and return to the town.I am right.  When I return to Monterey, there they are all lined up on Main Street.

The Dodge Power Wagon is a four-wheel drive light truck produced from 1945-1980. This early version was based on Dodge 3/4-ton military trucks produced during World War II and was the first to be offered to the civilian population.  (Wikipedia; Dodge Power Wagon)

Some of the trucks are all spiffied up, the others seem to be in their original condition.  I never see the drivers of the cars, as they are probably out being festive in the town.

Dodge Power Wagon at the Monterey Crafts Festival
Dodge Power Wagon at the Monterey Hearts & Harvest Fall Foliage Festival
Dodge Power Wagon
Dodge Power Wagon
Dodge Power Wagon
Dodge Power Wagon
Dodge Power Wagon
Dodge Power Wagon
a line up
a line up
older version
older version
head on
head on

More fun times in Monterey. 🙂

12 thoughts on “the dodge power wagon brigade in monterey

  1. My cousins used to fix up old cars and trucks and drive them around in these little country fairs, “tractor pulls” and parades, and they even got calls for weddings to drive the bride and groom around in an old TBird they restored to mint condition. I miss those wonderful fall events! Heck I miss everything “fall”!!!

    But why no photos of you and the lovely fellow blogger you went to visit for a few days? Or did I miss a post?

Leave a Reply

