the barn quilts of highland county

Sunday, October 13:  All throughout Highland County are barns painted with quilt squares by artisan Margie Boesch.  Says the artist on the website, Artisans Center of Virginia: Highland Barn Quilts:

Quilting has been an interest of mine for many years.  I love the symmetry of the patterns, the interplay of lights and darks, the use of color that sings in the fabrics,  and especially the heritage they represent.  However, I now prefer to paint them rather than to sew them!

Turkey Tracks located on the east side of Meadowdale Road
Turkey Tracks located on the east side of Meadowdale Road

My farmer husband suggested putting a few on our barns.  Interest and orders grew and Highland County now has over twenty-five barn quilts on barns and sheds in our beautiful county.

I couldn't find this one in the brochure :-)
I couldn’t find this one in the brochure 🙂

During my drive today, I was able to photograph only 5 of the 25 throughout the county.  As a former quilter, I was struck by the variety of colorful and traditional patterns.  I saw more than these, but I wasn’t able to photograph them because it was difficult to pull off the road without trespassing on people’s properties.  Here are a few of them.

Flying Geese located on the north side of Mountain Turnpike
Flying Geese located on the north side of Mountain Turnpike
Jacob's Ladder located at 5573 Mountain Turnpike
Jacob’s Ladder located at 5573 Mountain Turnpike
I wasn't able to find this one in the brochure either. :-(
I wasn’t able to find this one in the brochure either. 😦
16 thoughts on “the barn quilts of highland county

  1. Aren’t these barn quilts precious – popping up on houses and barns when you least expect it. Margie Boesch has a long waiting list of people who want barn quilts done. Soon, the whole county will be “quilted.”

  2. Hi Cathy! What a clever idea! I was a major quilter in my day. The first one is quite far away that you were not able to recognize, but it looks like it might be a Lone Star in the middle. The second one you could not identify seems to be a pinwheel pattern. Spectacular idea! I live in the heart of Amish and Mennonite country in Southwestern Ontario (the movie “Witness” with Harrison Ford was filmed a few miles away from my parents’ house) and quilting is a big deal there. My mother is into it now but she just sets up the patterns after choosing the fabric, and then has these little old Amish ladies do all the needlework for her. Beautiful photos, I hope you get to photograph them all eventually.

    1. I didn’t know you used to be a quilter, Mona Lisa. So did I! I loved the designing better than the needlework myself, so I have a lot of unfinished projects and I actually ended up getting rid of my quilt fabric when I got back from Oman. I knew I would probably never do it again. Painting the patterns sounds like the perfect idea.

    1. Thanks so much for doubling KvK’s guess on the barn quilt. I’ll have to change the label. So do you still quilt then? I used to, but I gave it up when my youngest son was born 20 years ago!

  3. What a wonderful idea – I liked the designing too, but not the sewing, in fact I haven’t sewn since my children were little – but painting the designs is sheer brilliance.

    1. I agree, Jude. I love picking out fabrics and designing quilts, but I hate the sewing. I could have stared at my lovely collection of fabrics forever, but I knew they were never going to turn into quilts, so I got rid of the whole stash when I returned home from Oman. Maybe they will end up in someone else’s quilts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

