on a whim: tickled pink by antiques in lucketts

Saturday, September 21:  On this rainy Saturday, I am driving through Lucketts, Virginia on my way back from a road trip through Maryland and southern Pennsylvania, when I am surprised to see a pink silo with black polka dots.  I immediately think of Marianne’s CBBH Photo Challenge: Pink.  Lucketts is home to a number of antiques stores, one of which I featured in my post: the old lucketts store near leesburg.  I decide to pop in to this one, On A Whim, to check it out.  I find so much cuteness here, I’m tickled pink!

On A Whim, with its pink and black polka-dotted silo
On A Whim, with its pink and black polka-dotted silo
a metal bed pretty (& rusty) in pink
a metal bed pretty (& rusty) in pink
near the road at On A Whim
near the road at On A Whim
the entrance to On A Whim
the entrance to On A Whim
pink bicycle
pink bicycle
another pink bicycle flanking the entrance
another pink bicycle flanking the entrance
pink formalwear
pink formal wear
mannequin in pink
mannequin in pink
pink flowers
pink hats and flowers
another mannequin in pink
another mannequin in pink
pinkish gloves
pinkish gloves

Now everything in this store isn’t pink, and there are quite a few other cute displays, which you can see by clicking on any of the pictures in the gallery below.

Right before I leave here, I come across a globe.  I’ve been thinking a lot about where I’d like to go for a holiday next year, or where I’d go if I were to teach abroad again.  I decide to spin the globe and see where my finger lands.  It lands in China.  It’s funny because I’ve often thought that if I were to teach abroad again, I’d go to China.  But I don’t really want to go there for a holiday next summer as it’s too far away.  I’d rather stay close to the Americas.  I spin the globe again.  Again, my finger lands in China.  Hmmm.  Is this a sign of things to come?

My finger lands on China two times in a row.  What does this mean?
My finger lands on China two times in a row. What does this mean?

As part of Marianne’s CBBH photo challenge, I’m supposed to add links to two blogs I’ve visited and commented on in the last month.  So here we go, sharing the “blog love.”

I first have to introduce being mrscarmichael: I love her way with words and her quick wit.  She has described herself as “just another mannequin,” and seeing these mannequins makes me think of her immediately.  She describes herself on her blog:  Mrs Carmichael is opinionated, quick to judge and occasionally impatient. She also changes her mind. … Her dislikes include math, weakness, a tardy nature and chardonnay.  Mrs Carmichael has a number of very good friends and a few people who don’t like her as much as they should. On balance she quite likes herself, enjoys her own company and sometimes makes herself laugh.  She makes me laugh too!

I’d also like to introduce Jude of Postcards from around the world… and Travel Words, who describes herself as a person filled with wanderlust.  She posts her travel diaries and photos, which are wonderful indeed.  We share a love of Portugal, and have visited many of the same places I visited this summer.

24 thoughts on “on a whim: tickled pink by antiques in lucketts

  1. OMG, I was drawn by the pink silo and (having already forgotten your mannequin hint earlier due to a big Saturday night out hanging with Rod Stewart and at least a couple of glasses of sav blanc) imagine my shock and surprise to see my doppelganger dressed in pink, a particular favourite colour of mine after orange.

    Thank you so much for the big up.

    And I do need to get to that store although I must say it looks as if it has the potential to be a fire hazard – Christmas lights and synthetic fabric – wise.
    If my finger landed on China once I would move my finger. Twice and I might just cut it off.

    Hope you don’t mind if I reblog this post. I was about to steal the mannequin pics anyway.

    1. Haha, I’m so glad you enjoyed my mannequins, mrs. carmichael. I thought of you immediately, and couldn’t help thinking, “It’s so nice to see mrs. carmichael here!” Glad you like the pink too! It does seem to be a bit of a fire hazard, but hopefully they don’t leave those lights on when no one’s around!

      As far as China, I know lots of people who have traveled there and I know there are lots of beautiful places to see, although I’m sure it would be a hardship tour. I actually liked Beijing quite a lot when I went there for 4 days in 2010. We’ll see!

      I’d be flattered if you reblogged the post! 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on being mrscarmichael and commented:
    OMG, I was drawn by the pink silo and (having already forgotten your mannequin hint earlier due to a big Saturday night out hanging with Rod Stewart and at least a couple of glasses of sav blanc) imagine my shock and surprise to see my doppelganger dressed in pink, a particular favourite colour of mine after orange.

    Thank you so much for the big up.

    And I do need to get to that store although I must say it looks as if it has the potential to be a fire hazard – Christmas lights and synthetic fabric – wise.
    If my finger landed on China once I would move my finger. Twice and I might just cut it off.

    Hope you don’t mind if I reblog this post. I was about to steal the mannequin pics anyway.

  3. Thanks to Mrs C reblogging this post I came along to have a read. She is, as you say, so dry that I always get a laugh out of her posts 🙂 and as ever she does not disappoint here //If my finger landed on China once I would move my finger. Twice and I might just cut it off// I have to agree – although China looks very tempting from a scenic point of view, I’m afraid I will never contemplate visiting whilst they continue to use animal parts in their potions and invade Tibet. I know my decision is not going to affect them in any way, but it is my personal stance. I don’t expect you or anyone else to necessarily agree. I’d say why not Thailand, but I understand you (like me) hate heat and humidity, so perhaps not. As you love the European culture so much, why not somewhere in Europe?

    As for this place – what a shocking pink find! I’m not surprised you had to stop and have a look. I admit to thinking the mannequin in pink WAS Mrs C. Relieved to know she isn’t swanning around in Lucketts!! (Nice name) and wearing what looks like real fur!!!!

    and than you so much for the mention Cathy… 🙂
    Jude xx

    1. Yes, Jude, mrs. c’s comment about China is hilarious, and I find it hard to believe I would consider going there myself since there are so many things I dislike about the government. I’ve read a lot about China and I also did research for a think tank about how it’s believed they harvest human body parts (kidneys, livers, eyes, etc) for sale in the black market (apparently from Falon Gong prisoners!) I would be a little afraid to live there frankly. But there are so many amazing things to see there, I wonder if I could do it for just a year.

      Thailand and Vietnam and Cambodia would all be interesting places to work, but the pay there is lousy and, like you said, I hate heat and humidity.

      As far as Europe, I would LOVE to work there most of all, but I’ve heard it’s very difficult to work there as an American without an EU passport. I should look into it though, as it would be a dream come true.

      However, all that being said, I feel I need to stay home for a while to try to get my sons on the right track. Who knows how long that will take! I might be too old to do much of anything by that time.

      Yes, it was really surreal to run into the mrs. carmichael look-alikes in that store. I kept wanting to start a conversation with them!

      Thanks again for visiting, Jude, and for your great comments. 🙂

      Oh, and thanks for your hugs in your other comment. xxx

  4. The “pretty in pink” photos after you’ve gone inside give the feeling you’ve entered a land of fairies. A wonderful eclectic mix of merchandise! As to your finger landing on China, I believe that globe is actually a crystal ball.

    >

    1. Funny, I think about Asia more and more now that I’m home. I don’t miss Oman at all, and it turns out that 80% of my students here at Northern Virginia Community College are from the Gulf. Thought I was escaping that culture! Asia is looking pretty darn good to me right now…

  5. OH wow – what a great place to stumble across! And, fancy you finding Mrs C’s doppelganger in there!! LOL

    I think the spinning globe might be telling you something, Cathy – although what that something is …. is open to interpretation, I’m sure 🙂

    Great photos, and thanks for linking to two great blogs 🙂

Leave a Reply

