a photography outing at cunningham falls state park

Saturday, September 21:  Today I join a photography group to explore the waterfalls at Cunningham Falls State Park in Maryland.  Last evening, I went to a photography store to buy a tripod, which I have never used before. I also bought some filters.  I checked into the price for a wide-angle lens, but sadly, I can’t afford $700 now. Feeling all geared up, I embark on this new adventure.

Sadly the waterfall doesn’t have much water in it because there has been so little rain over the summer.  It is also quite an overcast day.  This is my first experiment with a tripod and a filter.  I can’t say I’m overly impressed with my first attempts.

waterfall at Cunningham Falls State Park
waterfall at Cunningham Falls State Park
waterfall
waterfall
waterfall
waterfall

Cunningham Falls State Park is in the Catoctin Mountains. It is divided into two separate but unique areas. Today, we visit the William Houck area with its lake, falls and campground.

creek bed
creek bed
Cunningham Falls State Park
Cunningham Falls State Park
Mossy stump
Mossy stump
tinges of autumn
tinges of autumn
spiky fallen trees
spiky fallen trees
spiky standing tree
spiky standing tree

The park is named for its 78-foot waterfall. Cunningham Falls are the largest cascading waterfalls in the state. The falls are locally known as McAfee Falls.

waterfall taken with tripod
waterfall taken with tripod
waterfall
waterfall
filtered green
filtered green
greenery in the forest
greenery in the forest
tree barnacles
tree barnacles
a bed of green
a bed of green
rock-lined path
rock-lined path
leftovers
leftovers
Ice cold Coca-Cola
Ice cold Coca-Cola
9 thoughts on “a photography outing at cunningham falls state park

  1. Mam used to say “the world loves a trier” Cathy, and you’re certainly that 🙂 So happy to hear the good news over the cancer scare. You must have been worried sick. Stress really doesn’t help, either. Big hugs, hon! You’ll be having a well-deserved super weekend. Happy Columbus Day! 🙂

    1. You’re too kind, Jo. I like your mam’s saying! Yes, I’m glad the “cancer” was just pre-cancer, but I’ll have to be careful in the future. Thanks, it was so great to get away this weekend to meet a fellow blogger. That makes 3 now! 🙂

  2. It’s a great area, with wonderful photo ops and you took advantage of that. For some unknown reason, the Coca Cola photo draws me in the most; perhaps the bright spot of red on the weathered wood. I have a tripod that Gep gave me – I never use it, but I would if I wanted a long exposure. If I planned ahead. I don’t do much planning ahead with pictures.

    >

    1. Thanks, Carol, and yes, it does take patience and a lot of planning ahead to use the tripod. I’m really not sure how often I will use it b/c it was kind of a pain! I like that photo of the Coca Cola sign too. I think for the same reason you do! 🙂

    1. Yes, it’s always nice to be out in nature, Carol. It was fun trying and yes, I’m sure if I took the time and effort to get familiar with the tripod, I’d be able to do more things with it. 🙂

      1. I was given a travel tripod last Christmas and haven’t used it much. I just carried it all around Belgium and Germany for five weeks and didn’t even get it out of the bag. Now I wish I did. I must make the effort from now on.

      2. Yes, me too. I haven’t tried to use mine again after that day. I think it’s called for on special occasions, for night shots or maybe a more heavily flowing waterfall. 🙂

Leave a Reply

