a cloudy afternoon in emmitsburg, maryland

Saturday, September 21: After my morning photography outing at Cunningham Falls State Park, I head to the little town of Emmitsburg, founded in 1785 and a part of Frederick County, Maryland.  I’ve been told it’s a cute little town, quintessential Americana; it’s the home of Mount Saint Mary’s University and a Catholic pilgrimage site. The Basilica and National Shrine of St. Elizabeh Ann Seton, the first U.S. born saint, are also here; the saint’s relics are entombed at the shrine (Wikipedia: Emmitsburg, Maryland).

Church & cemetery in Emmitsburg, Md
Church & cemetery in Emmitsburg, Md
Cemetery in Emmitsburg, MD
Cemetery in Emmitsburg, MD
Door in Emmitsburg
Door in Emmitsburg
Door in Emmitsburg
Door in Emmitsburg
Door in Emmitsburg
Door in Emmitsburg
Door in Emmitsburg
Door in Emmitsburg
Church in Emmitsburg
Church in Emmitsburg
The Vigilant Hose!
The Vigilant Hose!

Emmitsburg is just south of the Mason-Dixon line, separating Maryland from Pennsylvania.

Gate to a cute yard
Gate to a cute yard

Once again, I’m on a quest to take pictures for an Instagram challenge, #WHPdoortodoor.  The challenge is to take interesting photos of, you guessed it, doors.  As far as I’m concerned, American doors are not that interesting, but I try my best.  If only I had been taking these pictures in Portugal, or Spain, or even Oman or Nepal or India.

Bar
Bar
Cemetery
Cemetery
Sunflower
Sunflower
Door in Emmitsburg
Door in Emmitsburg
Door in Emmitsburg
Door in Emmitsburg
Church in Emmitsburg
Church in Emmitsburg
Doors in Emmitsburg
Doors in Emmitsburg
For Rent
House For Rent
Door in Emmitsburg
Door in Emmitsburg

After I wander about the town, I stop in at the Holy Grounds Cafe for a pumpkin latte; here I sit and chat with the owner for a while in this part-cafe, part-religious relics store.  The owner is a music teacher who counts among his students many students from Mount Saint Mary’s University.  We talk for quite some time about the horrors of life in northern Virginia, where he used to live and of course where I live now.

Holy Grounds Cafe
Holy Grounds Cafe
Inside Holy Grounds Cafe
Inside Holy Grounds Cafe

After I enjoy my pumpkin latte, the owner directs me to some covered bridges outside of town; I’ve heard there are two in these parts.  As I drive through the countryside following his directions, I pass a barn doing what it does best: just being a barn.

A barn just being a barn
A barn just being a barn
4 thoughts on “a cloudy afternoon in emmitsburg, maryland

  1. Well I think there are some perfectly lovely doors amongst your photos, though I have to confess to being more attracted to that lovely white picket fence/gate with the peeling paint! And what the heck is a pumpkin latte?

Leave a Reply

