weekly photo challenge: an unusual point of view

Sunday, September 8:  This week’s WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is to share a shot that reveals a new and different POV. You can take a picture of a familiar subject in a fresh way.

You can consider other approaches, too:

  • Use something natural (window, tree, wall of a building, etc.) to frame your shot.
  • Get low on the ground to take a picture from a very different angle.
  • Focus on a specific part of a person, object, or structure (instead of all of it) — or intentionally cut off a part of your subject or scene.
  • Place something in between you and your subject/scene to offer a distinct perspective.

This weekend, I go out to explore a bit of the Capitol Region on the Maryland side, including Rockville and Silver Spring.  In Rockville, I find F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald‘s burial place in a small cemetery behind St. Mary’s Church.  It’s a nondescript cemetery beside a busy highway intersection near a metro station.  Not a place where one would expect to find such a famous writer laid to rest.  It’s a challenge to take a photo of the tombstone from an unusual point of view, but in this picture, I try to focus on the crepe myrtle sprig placed on the tomb, along with the two bottles of wine placed on either side of the headstone, one of which has a small American flag in it.

F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald's tomb at St. Mary's church cemetery
F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald’s tomb at St. Mary’s Church cemetery

I also think the sky is fascinating today, with clouds streaked across its blueness, so I take this picture of the church with the focus being on the clouds, the stained glass window above the entryway, and the bell tower.

St. Mary's Church in Rockville, final resting place of F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald
St. Mary’s Church in Rockville, final resting place of F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald

I also visit Brookside Gardens in Silver Spring, where I take a lot of photos, playing around with different points of view.  Here are a few of my attempts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
view from the back of the flower
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Spanish moss
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
side view of a Japanese maple
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
bird’s-eye view

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had a fun time on my outing and I have a lot more to post about each of these places, so stay tuned for more to come, as time permits. 🙂

19 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: an unusual point of view

  1. I love this. You are really good at getting those shots with the unusual shape, color, pov. I am wishing you peace and contentment, and hope that you can focus on the trees, and not worry about the forest right now …

    1. Thanks so much, Anne! You’re so kind to say so; I’m trying to improve all the time, although often I’m frustrated by my slow progress! Thanks for the good wishes for peace and contentment. I really hope I can find them soon! And also hope I can not be overwhelmed by the forest! 🙂 Missing you and of course I can’t keep up with anything right now, so I’m probably missing all kinds of interesting posts by you! Work is eating me alive. At least in Oman, though the administration sucked, it wasn’t so stressful and all-consuming!

Leave a Reply

