the sculpture garden at the national gallery of art

Sunday, August 25:  After giving up trying to find photos of people interacting with art at the National Gallery of Art, I went to the Sculpture Garden to see if I would have any luck there.  This search was to meet the challenge posed by Instagram to post photos taken over the weekend for their Hashtag project: #WHPartwatching.

Finally, I got this interesting fellow wearing purple athletic pants and a turquoise shirt, with a video camera partially balanced over his turquoise-dyed hair.  He was actually interacting with this metal tree sculpture.  Bingo!  Not the greatest, but it met the challenge.

a wild looking man interacting with a metal tree at the Sculpture Garden
a wild looking man interacting with a metal tree at the Sculpture Garden
this is what I entered on the Instagram #WHPartwatching
this is what I entered on the Instagram #WHPartwatching

After I got my picture, I walked around the Sculpture Garden, taking more photos of all the cool sculptures on the grounds.

Alexander Calder American, 1898-1976 George Rickey American, 1907-2002 Cluster of Four Cubes, 1992 stainless steel
Alexander Calder
American, 1898-1976
George Rickey
American, 1907-2002
Cluster of Four Cubes, 1992
stainless steel
Mark di Suvero American, born 1933 Aurora, 1992-1993
Mark di Suvero
American, born 1933
Aurora, 1992-1993
Joan Miró Spanish, 1893-1983 Personnage Gothique, Oiseau-Éclair (Gothic Personage, Bird-Flash), 1974, cast 1977
Joan Miró
Spanish, 1893-1983
Personnage Gothique, Oiseau-Éclair (Gothic Personage, Bird-Flash), 1974, cast 1977
Typewriter eraser by Claes Oldenburg and Coosje van Bruggen
Typewriter eraser by Claes Oldenburg
and Coosje van Bruggen
Alexander Calder American, 1898-1976 Cheval Rouge (Red Horse), 1974 painted sheet metal
Alexander Calder
American, 1898-1976
Cheval Rouge (Red Horse), 1974
painted sheet metal
Alexander Calder American, 1898-1976 Cheval Rouge (Red Horse), 1974 painted sheet metal
Alexander Calder
American, 1898-1976
Cheval Rouge (Red Horse), 1974
painted sheet metal
Alexander Calder American, 1898-1976 Cheval Rouge (Red Horse), 1974 painted sheet metal
Alexander Calder
American, 1898-1976
Cheval Rouge (Red Horse), 1974
painted sheet metal
Sol LeWitt American, born 1928 Four-Sided Pyramid, 1999, first installation 1997
Sol LeWitt
American, born 1928
Four-Sided Pyramid, 1999, first installation 1997
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Flower by Mother Nature 🙂
pond & fountains at the Sculpture Garden
pond & fountains at the Sculpture Garden
Barry Flanagan British, born 1941 Thinker on a Rock, 1997
Barry Flanagan
British, born 1941
Thinker on a Rock, 1997

By this time I was getting pretty hungry, as I always do, and I found these colorful food trucks, or kiosks, sitting along the road serving up some culinary delights.

Food kiosks on the Mall
Food kiosks on the Mall
Food kiosks on the Mall
Food kiosks on the Mall
Food kiosks on the Mall
Food kiosks on the Mall
Food kiosks on the Mall
Food kiosks on the Mall

I decided I would indulge at the “froyotogo” truck, mainly because it was painted purple, on some frozen yogurt with raspberry and kiwi toppings.

Food kiosks on the Mall
Food kiosks on the Mall
Frozen yogurt with raspberries and kiwi :-)
Frozen yogurt with raspberries and kiwi 🙂

Now that the Instagram project was over, I could simply enjoy my frozen treat on a bench along the long stretch of the Mall.  A lovely day in Washington, D.C. 🙂

On Friday evenings during the summer, jazz concerts are held at the Sculpture Garden.  I didn’t make it to any concerts this summer, but here’s me before I went to Korea, in the summer of 2009, holding a leafy plant (??) at Jazz in the Sculpture Garden.   I don’t know why, but I always get a hoot out of this photo. 🙂

me at Jazz in the Sculpture Garden in the summer of 2009
me at Jazz in the Sculpture Garden in the summer of 2009
Enhanced by Zemanta
16 thoughts on “the sculpture garden at the national gallery of art

  1. I have to confess to lacking in appreciation for modern/abstract sculpture, but the typewriter eraser made me chuckle and sigh with relief that these are no longer necessary.

    1. Haha, yes, Carol, it is such a good thing we don’t need those typewriter erasers any more. I’m not a big fan of abstract sculptures either, but the setting in the Sculpture Garden, with the fountain, and especially on the nights of Jazz, make them quite lovely. 🙂

  2. Great tree sculpture! Those fountains look good- there are some fantastic ones in Wroclaw in Poland. Don’t need them here- we just have rain 🙂 (and a HEALTHY snack, Cathy! Whatever is the world coming to?) 🙂

      1. Yes, I know, Jo. Colorado with its floods and California with its wildfires. What a mess! So far I spent most of yesterday working, except Mike and I went out to dinner and then I had some time to blog (finally!). Today is beautiful here, so I’m going to try to go on an outing, then out to dinner tonight with the family. Then tomorrow, back to work… UGH!

Leave a Reply

