crab cakes and cupcakes in berlin, maryland

Thursday, August 22:  This morning, my sister Joan and I lounge around her house in Salisbury, chatting and drinking coffee. After we’re tired of being totally lazy, she suggests we take a little trip to Berlin, Maryland.  Before we go, I set the self-timer and take a picture of the two of us in front of her backyard pool.

me and Joan in front of her backyard pool
me and Joan in front of her backyard pool

The town of Berlin had its start around the 1790s, part of the Burley Plantation, a 300-acre land grant dating back to 1677. The name Berlin is believed to be derived from a contraction of “Burleigh Inn,” an old tavern. Berlin incorporated as a town in 1868.

Hotel Atlantic in Berlin
Hotel Atlantic in Berlin

We head straight for lunch at the Hotel Atlantic.  I order the most delicious crab cake sandwich; this one has no filler and is broiled instead of deep-fried.  It’s absolutely perfect.

Crabcakes at the Hotel Atlantic
Crab cake sandwich at the Hotel Atlantic

Since the late 1980s, Berlin has undergone considerable revitalization of its historic downtown commercial district and adjacent residential areas. Berlin’s historic residential areas feature nearly two centuries of architectural heritage from three distinct periods: Federal, Victorian, and 20th Century.  Forty-seven of these structures have been noted in the National Register of Historic Places as well as the historic commercial district. Berlin has also been designated as a “Main Street Community” by the State of Maryland.

Berlin’s claim to fame is that its Main Street and some of the outlying areas were altered to become the fictitious town of Hale, Maryland in the 1999 film The Runaway Bride, starring Richard Gere and Julia Roberts.

For the 2002 movie Tuck Everlasting, starring Sissy Spacek, Ben Kingsley, and William Hurt, alteration of the streets and sidewalks transformed Berlin into the fictitious town of Treegap (Wikipedia: Berlin, Maryland).

After lunch, Joan and I wander through the little shops, each of us buying a few trinkets.  I’m enticed by the little cupcake shop, Cupcakes in Bloom.

Cupcakes in Bloom
Cupcakes in Bloom

The walls are decorated with pretty cupcake liners.

the walls of Cupcakes in Bloom
the walls of Cupcakes in Bloom

And the glass case is full of enticing and pretty cupcake creations.

cupcakes in bloom
cupcakes in bloom
bouquets of colorful cupcake liners
bouquets of colorful cupcake liners

I buy some cupcakes to take home to the family: S’mores, Chocolate Peanut Butter, Lemon and German Chocolate.

cupcakes
cupcakes

Other shops in the town are cute little enticements.

Main Street Sweets in Berlin
Main Street Sweets in Berlin
shop window in Berlin
shop window in Berlin

After we finish our wanderings, we drive back to Salisbury, where I say goodbye to my darling little sister and head back home to Virginia.  On the way, I make a stop at a farmer’s market, where I load up on watermelons, cantaloupes, and fresh corn, and admire the colorful Adirondack chairs displayed out front. 🙂

Adirondack chairs at the farm market
Adirondack chairs at the farm market
6 thoughts on “crab cakes and cupcakes in berlin, maryland

  1. How lovely that you could spend some time with your sister, Cathy. I’m really missing mine already. I adore crab cakes and will be having some this evening. 🙂 Love the vivid colours of those chairs. 🙂

    1. It was great to spend time with my sister, and I hope to visit my other sister in California after Christmas. I really need a reconnection with my family of origin right now! Hope you enjoyed your crabcakes!

    1. Yes, I can be so naughty, Jo! And that’s why my waist keeps getting bigger and bigger!!! Oh dear! I really need to stop with the cupcakes and I should have enjoyed the crab cakes without the bread! 🙂

Leave a Reply

