the grounds of lewis ginter botanical garden

Friday, August 16:  After I tear myself away from the orchid garden in the Conservatory of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, I walk outside to take a stroll around the extensive grounds.  I first see the Robins Visitors Center across the Fountain Garden.

the view from the Conservatory to Robins Visitors Center over the Fountain Garden
the view from the Conservatory to Robins Visitors Center over the Fountain Garden

Asian Valley celebrates the sacredness of nature with East Asian plants, rocks and water cascades.

Plants in Asian Valley
Plants in Asian Valley
Asian Valley
Asian Valley
Asian Valley
Asian Valley
water garden near the Lotus Bridge
water garden near the Lotus Bridge

The West Island Garden is a wetland garden with a focus on native species and carnivorous pitcher plants.

the West Island Garden
the West Island Garden
the West Island Garden
the West Island Garden
the West Island Garden
the West Island Garden
the West Island Garden
the West Island Garden
the West Island Garden
the West Island Garden
Winter creeper at the West Island Garden
Winter creeper at the West Island Garden

The Flagler Garden and the Woodland Walk have winding paths featuring a rich palette of perennials, shrubs, trees and bulbs.

Flagler Garden
Flagler Garden
Flagler Garden
Flagler Garden
Flagler Garden
Flagler Garden

The Children’s area has a tree house, a children’s garden, a farm garden and an international village.

the Kids' Tree House
the Kids’ Tree House
children's garden
children’s garden

The Louise Cochrane Rose Garden has more than 1,800 roses selected for fragrance, rebloom and disease resistance.

Louise Cochrane Rose Garden
Louise Cochrane Rose Garden
Asian Valley
Asian Valley

By this time, I’m getting eaten alive by mosquitoes and I promised my father I’d be at his house in Yorktown by 5:00, so I head out of the beautiful Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, promising myself to return here on a cool fall day.

Four Seasons Garden
Four Seasons Garden
Four Seasons Garden
Four Seasons Garden
Four Seasons Garden
Four Seasons Garden
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Four Seasons Garden

17 thoughts on “the grounds of lewis ginter botanical garden

  1. Those trumpet lilies are to die for! The rose suddenly reminded me of all the roses you photographed in Oman – there was something very beautiful about them there, maybe partly because they’re surrounded by that dry landscape.

      1. Haha, just the part about aperture and f-stops. There are still 121 pages of the manual I haven’t read! Maybe I’ll set a goal of a page a week?? Or a page a year??

    1. Wow, you used to live in Richmond? Where did you live? When I lived there I lived on Belmont near Carytown. I love that garden; I had been there for a wedding years ago, but it’s changed a lot!

      1. That’s amazing – I love Carytown. We lived in the Fan on Park just around the corner from the (then) Strawberry Street Cafe. We moved there after we left London and started our Management Consulting company. We really loved living there.

      2. I can imagine; anywhere in the Fan is so charming and homey. I know that area exactly. I’ve spent many hours in Strawberry Street Cafe, and other corner restaurants in the Fan. I loved living there too, and often dream of moving back there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

