richmond: sticky rice & a little slice of the fan

Friday, August 16:  I’ve written about Richmond’s Fan District before (richmond’s fan district), and I don’t want to repeat myself, but I’ll just say it’s one of the cutest neighborhoods ever.  I used to live in the Fan, and my daughter lives there now, and I have to say I’m quite envious.  Whenever I can take the time to make the 2+ hour drive from northern Virginia, I make it a point to escape to the city I still love.

houses near Sticky Rice in the Fan
houses near Sticky Rice in the Fan

After walking along the Canal Walk and through Shockoe Slip, I’m awfully hungry so I stop in at a restaurant in the Fan where Sarah and I have eaten before, Sticky Rice.  Sticky Rice is a Japanese restaurant with a sushi bar, and like many corner bars and restaurants in the Fan, it is a bustling place frequented by students of Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) and local residents.  I don’t actually see any Japanese people either working or eating here.  It also has a warm and cozy atmosphere, especially on what is fast becoming a cloudy and dreary day. (Sticky Rice)

Sticky Rice
Sticky Rice
the sushi bar at Sticky Rice
the sushi bar at Sticky Rice
street view from my booth at Sticky Rice
street view from my booth at Sticky Rice
Inside Sticky Rice
Inside Sticky Rice

I order the Crunchy Shrimp Roll, which is Tempura-fried shrimp with avocado, cucumbers, tobiko and spicy sauce.

Crunchy Shrimp Roll
Crunchy Shrimp Roll

After eating this, I’m still a little hungry, so I order the starter, which I obviously should have started with: Spring Rolls filled with rice noodles, carrots, red peppers, cilantro, basil and mint. Served with a peanut sauce for dipping. Served fresh, not fried.

Spring rolls - to finish
Spring rolls – to finish

Then I go outside to explore the neighborhood surrounding Sticky Rice, which is on West Main Street.  I love the pretty row houses, some painted in pastel colors and some with welcoming front porches adorned with potted plants, hanging plants, elaborate gardens, wicker chairs, porch swings, flags or picket fences.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I find a little street art too, but this is near Hollywood Cemetery, just outside the Fan.

the Victory Rug Cleaning Co.
the Victory Rug Cleaning Co.

It’s looking like it might rain, but I’m determined to go to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, so I get in my car and use my new iPhone to tell me the directions. Sarah taught me how to do this while we were in Charlottesville; after all, I’m just getting with the modern age where the high technology of smart phones is involved.

9 thoughts on “richmond: sticky rice & a little slice of the fan

  1. A pretty town! As to smart phones, I got my first one in May and I’m working on learning how to use it. Have some parts down pat, others might take a little more time. But like all of my technology, I’m certain it can do a lot more than I know how to make it do.

    1. I know exactly what you mean, Carol. It was funny, my daughter got my phone to act like a GPS, telling me directions out loud, but for the life of me, now that she’s not here, I can’t figure out how to do it. Hopefully I’ll figure out all its neat little tricks eventually.

      Thanks too, Richmond really is a cute town, especially the Fan area! 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Sylvia. Sticky Rice is one of my favorite places to eat in the Fan; and I love visiting Richmond. Not only to see my daughter, which is always fun, but also just because I love the atmosphere there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

