weekly photo challenge: one shot, two ways

Sunday, August 11: The WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is One Shot, Two Ways.

Cheri Lucas of WordPress writes: This week, photographer Jeff Sinon talked about his process of finding the best shot. Before taking a picture, he studies his scene — looking at a shot horizontally (as a landscape) and vertically (as a portrait). With this honed, critical eye, he decides what orientation works best for his photograph.

For this challenge, capture two images — a horizontal and a vertical version — of the same scene or subject. There are no concrete “rules” here, but a) it should be evident that both shots are of the same place/location or person/thing, and b) your photographs should ideally have been taken during the same shoot.

Here are several attempts at one shot, two ways.  These pictures were taken yesterday at The Old Luckett’s Store near Leesburg, Virginia.  The Old Luckett’s store has its own blog: The Old Luckett’s Store.  The store has been around for 17 years this August.

This is a hallway full of vintage windows.  Click on any of the images to get a full-sized mini-slideshow.

Here’s another set.  This room features old stained glass or beveled glass windows.

This set was taken in one of the many rooms in Old Luckett’s Store.  I like the slanted ceiling in this room.

The last time I visited this store, probably 7-8 years ago, it had a bit of charm, but most of its merchandise was simply junk.  Now the owners have elevated the store to a new level, what they call “vintage hip,” or what I’ve heard others call “shabby chic.”  I love how there’s a Buddha in the midst of American kitsch.

37 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: one shot, two ways

  1. OMG I want the leopard skin mannequin (and maybe the lamp, the wire chair and the buddha) . i rather like the kitsch kitchen table and chairs but thankfully have nowhere to put them. Oh and well done on the challenge as well.

    1. Mrs. Carmichael, I wanted so many things in that shop, but my house is way too crowded with junk already. If I had a brand spanking new house of my own that was empty, I’d be making a lot of trips to this store! And get into a lot of debt, which I certainly don’t need! 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Jean. Yes, that store is like taking a walk through the past. I’ll do a longer post on this place soon because I have a lot of great pictures. I like that hallway too. Thanks so much for visiting and commenting! 🙂

    1. Haha, yes, no skirts at all, Jo. Oh, actually, there was a room full of vintage clothing that I believe included some skirts. Don’t worry, I didn’t buy any here though. Believe it or not, I’ve still been searching for skirts, especially the kind with elastic waists! NONE of my pants fit me since i returned home from my eating extravaganza in Spain and Portugal! 🙂

      If I didn’t have a house already filled with so much clutter, I would have had a spending spree in this place!

    1. Thanks, Robin. Well, the Buddha is probably for sale (didn’t check the price), so it’s yours if you want to visit. Actually, I think they have an online shop (click my link) and you might be able to buy it there! 🙂 Dreams do come true sometimes!

  2. 2nd set, horizontal pic–lovely warmth in the rug. Maybe a little decrease in highlights to show up the stained glass with the light shining through, and a little less shadow to show the windows leaning on the left but lovely composition. I have a few stained glass windows in my house and love the way they warm the light.

    1. Thanks so much and thanks for your suggestions on how to make the pictures better. Are you talking before taking the shots or in some photo-editing program? I really don’t know how to fix these things. I need to expand my camera skills, that’s for sure!

  3. This is the best example of the challenge I’ve seen Cathy. It’s so interesting to see how a different perspective changes the whole scene. That shop is so amazing I’m surprised you even escaped to post about it. I’m looking forward to seeing more.

    1. Thanks so much, Carol. You’re so nice to say this! It is funny how the perspective changes when you take a portrait vs. a landscape photo. Now that I’m more aware of this, I should think more about it when composing a photo. 🙂

    1. No, Sylvia, I didn’t buy anything, though I was sorely tempted. My house is pretty much decorated and filled to the hilt. If I had another house, or a vacation house, I would definitely find stuff to buy here!

Leave a Reply

