leesburg: a farm market, fabbioli cellars and temple hall farm park

Saturday, August 10:  When I leave Old Luckett’s Store, I head down the road and make a stop at Heider’s Country Store & Farm Market, where I buy some nice plump peaches, some fat juicy tomatoes, some fresh bi-color corn on the cob, and, since those apple pies look so good, I buy one of those too.

Heider's Country Store & Farm Market
Heider’s Country Store & Farm Market
peaches
peaches
baskets of peaches
baskets of peaches
red tomatoes
red tomatoes
yellow tomatoes
yellow tomatoes
corn
corn
plants
plants

I love the way the sky looks today.

at Heider's Country Store & Farm Market
at Heider’s Country Store & Farm Market

I decide to make a stop at one of the wineries along the way, so I drive down Limestone School Road to Fabbioli Cellars.  People are sitting outside at tables drinking wine in happy camaraderie.  I wander into the building and a lady, picture blonde California chic, accosts me and in a fake-friendly manner asks if she can help me.  I say, no thanks, I just came in to check out the winery.  She says, “Well, we have a tasting of 6 wines and 6 bites for $15.  Miss so-and-so here can help you when you’re ready.”

I’m thinking that I just ate that sautéed kale sandwich at Luckett’s and I’m not really hungry so I don’t think I want to pay $15 since it includes 6 bites.  I don’t want any bites, I just want a few sips of wine.  So I say, I think I’ll just wander around and look at what you’ve got.

As I’m looking at the wine bottles, the cheapest of which is a raspberry Merlot for $22, a little steep for my wallet, the Cali-chic lady comes over to me and in an overenthusiastic voice says, “I just LOVE solitary travelers!”

Traveler?  Am I a traveler?  After all, I’ve probably been a Virginian longer than she’s been alive and I don’t think you’d call me, on this little day outing, a “traveler.”  And anyway, why should she point out so loudly and obnoxiously that I’m solitary?  Why single me out as someone who’s alone?  I don’t get it.  I’m immediately taken aback and say, “I travel alone a lot.  I just spent a month in Spain and Portugal traveling by myself.”  Now that’s “traveling,” not this little day outing to Leesburg, Virginia, only about 40 miles from my house.

Now I’m quite proud of myself that I’m able to travel alone, and I don’t find it weird at all because I’ve done it so much.  Actually, I often prefer traveling alone. But so many people in the world feel sorry for a person traveling alone. They assume a solitary traveler has no friends or family or anyone at all in their lives.  Or maybe they know there is no way they themselves could ever travel alone and maybe they’re just a little threatened by someone who’s independent enough to do it.  Who knows what it is, but believe me, I get plenty of weird reactions when I’m in my “solitary traveling” mode.

A bit of reverse culture shock?

With that, I decide I’ve had enough of this place.  I head outside, where I’d rather be anyway, and take some pictures of the sky and the wispy clouds and the fields of grapevines.

fields of grapevines at Fabbioli Cellars
fields of grapevines at Fabbioli Cellars
fields outside Fabbioli Cellars
fields outside Fabbioli Cellars
at Fabbioli Cellars
at Fabbioli Cellars

I drive back down Limestone School Road and pull off at Temple Hall Farm Regional Park, where I take some pictures of the sky again with the cornfields in the foreground, because I don’t want to miss the 4:50 showing of The Way Way Back at Cinema Arts Theatre in Fairfax.

Cornfields at Temple Hall Farm Regional Park
Cornfields at Temple Hall Farm Regional Park
Cornfields at Temple Hall Farm Regional Park
Cornfields at Temple Hall Farm Regional Park

So I head back down Limestone School Road and back down Route 15 and the Dulles Greenway and then all the way to Fairfax just in time for the quirky independent movie from the same studio who made Little Miss Sunshine and Juno.  Oh it’s so nice to be back in the U.S. where I can see good movies again. 🙂

Limestone School Road, from whence I came
Limestone School Road, whence I came
Limestone School Road, going forward to Fairfax
Limestone School Road, going forward to Fairfax
10 thoughts on “leesburg: a farm market, fabbioli cellars and temple hall farm park

  1. “….Or maybe they know there is no way they themselves could ever travel alone and maybe they’re just a little threatened by someone who’s independent enough to do it. Who knows what it is, but believe me, I get plenty of weird reactions when I’m in my “solitary traveling” mode” OMG I know the feeling! I ONLY travel by myself when I can and if I go with anyone I get my own hotel room so I can watch TV all night because I am always keen to see what people watch when I am back in my room after a long day of walking around. That lady would have made me leave as well, you should let her employer know on their website how she turns you off spending any money even if you hadn’t planned to. They don’t need to know that, but they do need to know they have very pushy and obnoxious sales staff. Re movies, the cute French movie we watched was on TV the other night! The one about out in the sticks! I thought of you! Remember to look for the French movie “Little White Lies”, it is totally your kind of film. Loved the market, but you can tell much of their “antique” selection was very recently made to look that way. Still, those are my kinds of shops, or they were, before I finished my condo to look as overstuffed as I could manage without being impossible to clean. Now I just want function when housing is so temporary. I could care less how it looks as I have a beautiful art and book-filled home back in Canada. If only I had a job to go with it…..

    1. Yes, that was a weird encounter, KvK, and I don’t know why she had to point out my “solitary traveling.” Oh well.
      As far as the French movie you saw “about out in the sticks,” I can’t think which movie you’re talking about! I definitely have to get my hands on “Little White Lies.” I’d love to redecorate my house with this kind of look, but alas, there is no room and I have no money to do it!

      1. Don’t you remember that cute French movie we watched about the guy sent to work in Lille and it was considered purgatory by everyone south where he was from? And that he loved it there but had to pretend he didn’t with your favourite French actor? He met that odd guy…. remember? It was not that long ago. They kept going “Sht…” all the time! So cute! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bienvenue_chez_les_Ch'tis

      2. Hey there! I’ve never seen that movie; you must have me confused with someone else. However, I’ve added it to my Amazon cart and will order it soon! I also added Little White Lies to my Netflix queue. So I’ll be seeing them both soon, I hope!

      3. Are you certain??? Well it must have happened in an alternate universe! I came over and sat on your sofa and we had wine and cheese and crackers and we watched a DVD together and that was the movie, one of your favourites apparently!!! You did not have many to choose from as most of your DVDs had been sent home. I have not watched DVDs with anyone else here so ….???? But if you say so…. 😀 But I remember we had a really nice time so that is my story and I am sticking to it! Just in case, please check your DVDs before you order it!!!! LOL!

      4. You’re funny. I’m absolutely certain I don’t own that movie, nor have I ever seen it! We watched other movies together, but not that one! It must have happened in an alternate universe, with someone else, at another time and place! 🙂

  2. Some gorgeous shots here, and such yummy looking produce. As for the traveler remark, it’s always interesting to observe which remarks get to us. I think you’re a traveler at heart, whether alone or not, and I applaud you for the traveling you have done alone. It has it’s pluses (I love it, too) but there are times when it can be challenging. And I bet she sensed a lot of that somehow.

    1. Maybe so, Lynn. I don’t really know what she was thinking but it did make me very uncomfortable that she felt the need to point out my being alone in such a loud voice, when I would prefer to be treated just like anyone else! And preferably not be noticed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

