sunday post: black and white

Sunday, August 19:  Jakesprinter’s Sunday Post for this week is Black and White.  He writes: Black and white as a description may be considered something of a misnomer, in that the images are not ordinarily starkly contrasted black and white, but combine black and white in a continuum producing a range of shades of gray. Further, many prints, especially those produced earlier in the development of photography, were in sepia (mainly for archival stability), which yielded richer, more subtle shading than reproductions in plain black and white. Color photography provides a greater range of shade, but part of the appeal of black and white photography is its more subdued monochromatic character.  Now, either adjust your camera or edit your photo using photo editing tools.  Old photographs from the 1950s to 70s works for this challenge too!

Here’s a picture in black and white from Aldie, Virginia, taken in August 2012.

A spot near the Battle of Aldie in the U.S. Civil War which took place on June 17, 1863.

I couldn’t resist, being back home, putting up some pictures from my family here in the United States of America.  This is my father and mother in China Lake, California before they got married in the early 1950s.  My mother passed away in 2002.

My dad and mom in China Lake, California before they got married in the early 1950s.

Here is me in my grandmother’s backyard in Petersburg, Virginia holding my favorite doll, named after my heroine Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. (~ 1961-62?)

me with Dorothy

And finally, me with my boyfriend Paul in a photo booth ~ 1974.

me with Paul in a photo booth, circa 1974
19 thoughts on “sunday post: black and white

      1. I got an email on Saturday the 18th, New post on a nomad in the land of nizwa (my world in five colors) but when I want to visit it says the post is gone. Maybe my gmail account has gone mad? It’s very possible 🙂

      2. Thank you. Sometimes it’s best not to ask questions when it comes to computers – they might take it personally and shut down on you for good.

      3. I’m glad you found it. I miss my Nizwa blog and look forward to getting back to exploring Oman again! (as soon as it cools off in November!)

        Yes, treat your computer well and don’t push it too much!

      4. As teachers at the university we get a 6 week break sometime during the summer months. Some teachers took their breaks during summer school (SMART!) while some of us (FOOLS!) took our breaks after summer school, which meant we had to teach! It is hot there now, but that’s not the reason we got the break. It’s just the school calendar… like most school calendars; summer off.

    1. I spent one whole summer scanning in old photos, when I first got on Facebook. I probably still have plenty more to scan. I can’t wait to see yours Madhu! I love these old black & whites too!

Leave a Reply

