share your world: cee’s life questions (week #35)

Sunday, August 19:  Cee took a break for a few weeks from Share Your World, but now she’s back with a new set of questions.

What is your favorite comfort snack food?

Cheese and bread or crackers, preferably warm cheese smothered in cranberries, like this goat cheese appetizer at the Left Bank in Muscat, Oman.  As vegans, my sons would be horrified by this revelation, but some things will never change!

Comfort snack!!

At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?

Every time I travel, I feel passionate and alive.  In the RECENT past, I guess it would have to be my trip last November (2011) to Jordan, where I went to Amman, along the King’s Highway, to the Crusader castle Karak, to the Roman ruins of Jerash, to Um Qais, and to Petra.

me feeling passionate and alive in Petra

My trip to Vietnam (Hanoi & Halong Bay) in January, 2011, would have to be the second most recent time.

feeling alive and passionate near Hanoi, Vietnam!

I would say the time in the last several years that I felt most alive was the FIRST time I traveled alone in my entire life, on a two-week trip to Turkey in the summer of 2010.  I never believed I could travel to a foreign country alone, but now that I’ve done it, I actually prefer to travel this way!

alive and passionate in Cappadocia, Turkey 🙂

Basically, I feel most alive when thrust into a new situation, forced to adapt, to go with the flow, to survive!  So of course,  the last two years, living and working abroad in Korea and in Oman, have made me feel passionate and alive (for the most part)!

What is your favorite outdoor activity?

First, being a basically lazy person, it would have to be wandering aimlessly through a foreign city or town and stopping whenever I feel like it to sit at an outdoor cafe and have a snack and a glass of wine.  Wait.  Is that really an outdoor activity?

Any kind of hiking or walking, or even riding a bicycle, outside (especially in a new place) are favorite activities!

ready for an all day bikeride with a Korean fellow traveler in Kyoto, Japan

If you could have your own TV channel, what would it be about?

I know, it sounds like I have a one-track mind, but it would be about travel, about living and working abroad, about different cultures.  It would include programs about spiritual journeys, about personal growth through travel.  It would feature some of my favorite and inspirational travel writers such as Alain de Botton and Pico Iyer!

Related stories:

becoming a nomad… the art of travel

A Jaunt to Jordan

rice paddies and papayas

catbird in turkey

12 thoughts on “share your world: cee’s life questions (week #35)

  1. I would love to have the opportunity to travel as you have, although I’m more a leafy green person so my choice of countries would differ. Not sure I could do it alone, however – I could do it with either or both of my kids, and one of my friends I think.

    1. Carol, most of my TRAVEL destinations, the places I actually choose for vacation, are green and leafy. Oman would not be a place I would choose to live, but it’s the place that offers a good salary and benefits for teaching. It’s nearly impossible for an American to get a visa to work in the EU (sadly) and the pay in more beautiful countries is sometimes less than half of what I made in Korea or currently make in Oman. I never thought I could enjoy traveling alone, and was so afraid to do it the first time, but I got hooked on it. The benefit is meeting fellow travelers and locals along the way. People are more likely to strike up a conversation if you’re alone than if you’re with someone else! 🙂

    1. Yes, it gets lonely sometimes, especially if I want to go out for dinner at night and I haven’t met anyone along the way. But usually, I meet so many people along the way that they become part of the adventure! Yes, you can see I love food. It runs in my family! 🙂

      1. Hehe. Get yourself a stuffed toy animal – when all else fails take it with you for a meal! Best part is, they can’t back chat! You could always talk to your meal but I find that some people give you funny looks when you do that. Such screwballs out there hey, I mean really, mind your OWN business? What’s that my lunch, you want me to stab you with my fork and bite you? Don’t mind if I do…

      2. Funny idea. Yes, I can see myself sitting in a nice restaurant with a stuffed animal in the seat across from me. Or me talking to my food. People will really think I’m looney! I don’t mind what other people think so much as I mind just not having anyone to share my day with!

Leave a Reply

