travel theme: signs

Thursday, August 16:  This week’s travel theme from Ailsa of Where’s my backpack? is SIGNS.  Ailsa writes about signs: they come in all shapes and sizes. If you would like to join in, create your own post with the title Travel theme: Signs and put a link to Ailsa’s page in your post so others can find it. And check back in next Friday for a new travel theme.

The USA certainly has its share of strange & interesting signs, as Ailsa’s post demonstrates, so I focus my sign-hunting on western Maryland, where our family is on vacation, and in Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania.  Here are a few from the mountains near Deep Creek Lake.  I found this one at a Baptist Bible Church.

at a Baptist Bible Church in McHenry County

Believe it or not, there is a town called Accident near Deep Creek Lake.

Accident, Maryland

This is a sign I found on the back of a bathroom door near Monroe Run Hiking Trail.  I found it interesting and informative! 🙂

I learned something about composting here!

And here’s a warning to fishermen to please wash their waders so they don’t spread “Rock Snot”!

Help prevent “Rock Snot”!

In Pennsylvania, we eat lunch at a cute little cafe where they write their signs on blackboards.  This reminds me of my childhood, when I used to make all 4 of my little siblings sit in rows and listen to me “teach” them (who knows what!) and write on a blackboard.

artistic signs on blackboards at the Firefly Grill

And at this little cafe in Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania, the only option available to my vegan sons is in the bottom left corner.

sausage, pork, beef and chicken: every meat known to man. luckily there are some fruit smoothie options!
13 thoughts on “travel theme: signs

      1. Ooooh forgot to tell you, I was on a ferry once and the sign in front of me was quite vandalised. It read “Please remain eated when told to do so by the kipper” I have a picture somewhere – but where…

Leave a Reply

