ohiopyle, pennsylvania ~ a slice of americana

Thursday, August 16:  On our way to Fallingwater, we stop for lunch at the little town of Ohiopyle in Pennsylvania.

we see these flowers all over Pennsylvania and western Maryland: the Black-eyed Susan, also known as Brown-eyed Susan, Brown Betty, Brown Daisy, Gloriosa Daisy, Yellow Daisy…. the list goes on.

Ohiopyle is a small borough in the Laurel Highland mountains of Fayette County, Pennsylvania.  The community is a place for outdoor lovers.  Ohiopyle State Park offers hiking and biking along the 135 mile Great Allegheny Passage.  The Youghiogheny River, which runs through the town, has frothy rapids for whitewater canoeing or rafting.

the Youghiogheny River going through Ohiopyle

The first known group of people to inhabit the Ohiopyle area were the Monongahela, a clan of the Mound Builders. These Native Americans disappeared from the scene just as European colonists were beginning to arrive in North America.  One of the few remnants of American Indian culture that can be found in the area is in the name. “Ohiopyle” is derived from the Lenape phrase ahi opihəle which means ‘it turns very white’, referring to the frothy waterfalls. (Wikipedia: Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania)

anything you want to explore the great outdoors in Ohiopyle

As of the 2000 census, there were only 77 people living in the borough.  Despite the tiny year-round population, the area is often brimming with tourists who come to experience the great outdoors.

We eat lunch at a cute little cafe called The Firefly Grill.

Firefly Grill
ordering lunch at the Firefly Grill

The boys have Thai Tofu wraps: Fried tofu, salad mix, cucumber, tomato, onion and a spicy Thai peanut sauce.

Thai Tofu wrap

I have what seems like a HUGE Southwestern wrap: Black beans, salad mix, rice, salsa, sour cream, Cheddar cheese, onion & guacamole.  I only eat half and give the rest to Mike.

the Southwestern wrap

Mike has a vegetarian ciabatta with grilled veggies such as broccoli, cauliflower, salad mix, feta cheese and peppers.

the grilled veggie pita sandwich with fresh-cut french fries
the Methodist Church next door

After lunch we take a stroll through the little (0.5 square mile) town.  We see a Methodist church, a bike shop, an ice cream shop, an old train station/visitor center, and a bridge over the river.

Bike Rentals, Ice Cream, Rafting Trips ~ all under one roof!
Bike shop
bikes near the Visitor Center
Methodist Church welcomes you!

We then stroll down along the banks of the Youghiogheny River, where we see kayakers, sunbathers on rocks and frothy rapids.

the bridge across the river
looking downriver from the bridge
beautiful day!
kayakers below the bridge
white water rapids
beautiful flowering bushes along the riverside
I love these bushes!
beautiful flowers!! 🙂
Adam balances on the fence for the length
the falls
the waterfalls, again
and once more…

I love the feel of this little town, with its few inhabitants and its outdoor-loving passers-through.  I’d love to come back again, when I return to America, to do some white-water rafting.  No time for it today, but it is fun dropping in.

goodbye, Ohiopyle, PA!
24 thoughts on “ohiopyle, pennsylvania ~ a slice of americana

    1. I bet the locals do prefer it this way. Yes, I guess you can see I like food!! Maybe I’ll have to add some cooking experiments to my Oman blog. Maybe it will encourage me to eat healthy!

      1. It would be interesting if i actually cooked in Oman! When I’m there, I’m not too motivated to cook since it’s just me. But after being home and being inspired by my boys, maybe I’ll cook more when I get there!

      2. Yeah Marco, I don’t think it’s a benefit to compare these types of products to meat. That is totally unappealing to me. When I think of meat imitations, which I’ve tasted before, I think chewy and grisly. Yech!

      3. Think back to good old soya mince! What the heck were they thinking – tastes just like real minced meat. Maybe that’s the point, to put people off their meat for good?

  1. You’re giving me deja vu. lol! A few years ago my husband and I went to Fallingwater and then to Ohiopyle. They have some great hiking in that area. (Ohiopyle, btw, is not that far from me. About 2 hours drive, I think.) I am now going in search of a Thai tofu wrap (or a recipe for one) because that photo and your description have me craving one. 😀

    1. That’s so funny Robin. What a small world it is sometimes! Where we’re staying, at Deep Creek Lake, it is about an hour from Ohiopyle. Except we came from the south, where you would come from the west! I’m sure you can create the tofu sandwich easily. Let us know how it is!

Leave a Reply

