boating & tubing on deep creek lake

Monday, August 13:  We rent a motorboat for the next three days, along with a tube for today, so the boys can get pulled behind the boat.  They get thrilled by these kinds of adventures; I go along for the ride to take pictures and to simply enjoy looking at the lakeside homes and the sweep & dapple of clouds in the sky.

I love the clouds at Deep Creek, especially b/c it’s so rare to see clouds in Oman. But sometimes, they steal our sun… 🙂

The clouds at Deep Creek are so billowy and puffy that the sun in turn hides behind them, punctuating our sunny day with moments of darkness and cold, and then pokes out to provide moments of pure brilliance and warmth.   The boys keep asking me when I’m going to tube, but frankly, it’s just too chilly for me to make that leap into the water.  I’m perfectly happy just to bounce along in the boat, jerking and pounding over wakes from other boats, and then cruising at what feels like a high-speed but is actually only about 20 mph.

our boat for the next three days & the tube for today
Alex in the boat
looking back at Creekside Cove
Adam gets ready to tube
there goes Adam
Adam swims back to the boat
Alex takes his turn
Alex tubing and waving 🙂
Adam
Adam gets ready to go
Alex
Adam in the boat
Adam
Mike
Adam & Alex
“At the entrance, my bare feet on the dirt floor, Here, gusts of heat; at my back, white clouds. I stare and stare. It seems I was called for this: To glorify things just because they are.” ~ Czeslaw Milosz
the boat at the dock after a day of tubing
and the happy kayaks
14 thoughts on “boating & tubing on deep creek lake

    1. You know how it is, Lynne, when you’re the photographer. You never get into the pictures! Hopefully I’ll have some soon! It’s been fun on the water. I love being out in a boat!

  1. Ooooh sounds like fun! When you’re feeling brave, drag the tube behind a car/bakkie (truck) on the beach – the kind without rocks of course. It’s GREAT fun with the added bonus – you can’t possibly drown. Or maybe you can – some people *pft*

    1. Wow, that sounds interesting Marco! I don’t know though, I’d be more worried about getting scraped up by the rough sand than drowning (especially since we wear life vests!). I can imagine some people do *pft*!

    1. Yes Ameena, it was beautiful! I know, I know, I have to get the boys to take some decent pictures of me. They’re always goofing off, trying to take crazy angles and “original” shots, and those are certainly not at all flattering!! 🙂 I’ll find some for my next post, I promise!

  2. Hi there!
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blogs about Deep Creek Lake to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, shoot me an email at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you soon!
    Jane

Leave a Reply

