sunday post: close-up

Sunday, August 12:  Jakesprinter’s Sunday Post today is Close-up.  Here are some close-ups of things I saw on my morning walk at Deep Creek Lake.  As I’ve been living in the dry climate of Oman for the last year, I found myself infatuated with green!

leaves & daddy long-legs
ferns
mushrooms on moss
moss-covered rock
a strange shaped mushroom
one of the few flowers i encounter on my walk

So many green lush things are to be found in the forest along a mountain lake…. 🙂

20 thoughts on “sunday post: close-up

  1. I am going to guess that while green is unique for you, fungi like the mushrooms and the moss on the rocks is nearly unheard of – at least in the Oman part of your life.

    1. Thank you Madhu! It’s interesting to notice things I might have never noticed before because I took it all for granted. That’s what I love about travel. When you return, you see everything with a fresh eye! 🙂

    1. Thank you Jo. I know what you mean about taking it for granted. In Oman the last several months, with the heat and all the brown, I really needed an escape to green. I never imagined I would miss it so much, as I never really paid much attention to it in all the years I’ve lived in the USA. I bet New Zealand is wonderful, esp. as depicted in Lord of the Rings!

      1. I would love it Jo! I will definitely have to let you know when I make it your way!! I never have liked fantasy movies, but I did love Lord of the Rings and fell in love with the dramatic NZ landscape!

  2. oh good, daddy long-legs is of a manageable size. how would you feel if (s)he had to be supersized and was chasing you down the forest path, lol

    1. Haha Marco! I wouldn’t like that at all. I don’t mind spiders as long as they stay out of my way and remain small. It’s the big hairy ones I don’t care for (read tarantula, etc) and I certainly wouldn’t want to tangle with a super-sized one!! 🙂

      1. Nice man-s-zed tarantula coming up to say hello! Yep you’re right, keep ’em away! So keep them sweet now and one day when they mutate and get ready to eat us they’ll remember your kindness and let you see another day.

Leave a Reply

